CD Reviews

Chris Fury - 'From Darkness' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     May 19, 2016    
0.0 (0)
1283   0   1   0   0   0





We may well be fondly looking back on this album in the future as the one that introduced a great talent.

Long Island native Chris Fury comes from a long line of guitar talents from that area, following in the footsteps of Joe Satriani, Steve Vai and John Petrucci, amongst others. Self-taught but with extra tuition from the amazing solo artist and sideman to the stars Greg Howe, Fury delivers thirteen varied instrumental numbers with skill and dexterity. He exhibits an acute understanding of the accessible composition skills that make the likes of Satriani and Eric Johnson so appealing.

Joined by bassist Ian Underwood, drummer Sebastian Persini and occasional keyboard player Jason Roddin, 'The Nexus' kicks things off with frantic shredding but thankfully settles into a gritty Blues Rock riff with some decidedly off-kilter soloing. Satriani-esque melodies and sounds abound can be found on 'Over Andover' and 'All Funked Up' does exactly what it says on the tin; like a track from Extreme's 'Pornograffitti' but without the vocals.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

At the other end of the spectrum, the acoustic 'Byte The Bullet' features Jon Gomm-like syncopation and shades of Rik Emmett in the gentle mid-section. Other highlights include the beautiful ballad 'In Your Eyes', the riffy 'Autopilot Disengage', the acoustic-based 'Last Breath' and the Progressive light and shade epic 'Mystical Journey', where the only fault is the overdose of whammy bar à la Vai. In addition to his fledgling solo career, Fury writes for movies and TV which is where the atmospheric title track sounds like it comes from.

The off-the-wall 'Mogera', drum-heavy 'Lost Transmission' and 'A Fire Within' with its numerous riffs and time changes are all a little less palatable (nice bass showcase notwithstanding). There are also a few rough spots in the mix and a raw guitar sound mars 'Running Away' and brief sections of others, but the ideas are solid and 'From Darkness' ends up being an excellent achievement for a debut, self-financed album.

Available from certain online stores, and iTunes, we may well be fondly looking back on this album in the future as the one that introduced a great talent.

Phil Ashcroft

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  December 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
      1  2  3
  4  5  6  7  8  910

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 5 days ago
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our Revíews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us