CD Reviews

Wickman Road - 'After The Rain' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 19, 2016    
0.0 (0)
1203   0   1   0   0   0





A very welcome addition to the ever-expanding ranks of quality Swedish Melodic Rock.

Well, right now it seems that I can't go a week without seeing a new name coming out of Sweden, playing their very particular brand of AOR/Melodic Rock. I'm in no way denigrating the scene, but it does seem (to me at least or am I just imagining it?) that there is a proliferation of bands from this country at the moment. Add to this fact that the bar in the recent past has been set pretty darn high with top quality releases by bands such as JoNo, A.C.T, Houston et al. So it begs the question, is Wickman Road going to keep up the high standards set by said bands?

To start with the band are young and have time on their side, and what we have here is a solid but on occasions slightly safe set of songs which, in truth, did take me a while to really get to grips with.

The album finds the keyboards well to the fore in the mix and complimenting rather than dominating the sound and there is still plenty of room for some nifty guitar work and tasteful harmonies to keep proceedings mainly on track. Without doubt there is potential here, with a crisp, clear production which serves the songs well, of which only really get going with 'I Believe In You' after a somewhat sluggish album start. 'I Can't Wait Anymore', with it's neat little guitar motif and driving chorus, really does see the band hitting their stride.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

'All Alone' is the big ballad which they pull off with great aplomb and the rest of the album sees Wickman Road dividing their very obvious talents between mid-tempo Melodic Rockers and slower ballad-like tunes, which did at some points find my attention drifting somewhat. But the good definitely outweighs the "not so" moments which are evident in the superb 'Now When You're Gone' and album closer 'Time'.

As a debut it's a very credible release, I'd just like to see the band explore some slightly different avenues and go out on a limb a little more. These guys definitely have a future and they can take their rightful place with the aforementioned acts and are a very welcome addition to the ever-expanding ranks of quality Swedish Melodic Rock.

Malcolm Smith

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 1 day ago
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us