CD Reviews

Grandhour - 'Bombs & Bullets' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     October 09, 2016    
0.0 (0)
1738   0   1   0   0   0





A sensational debut.

This album has been a long time in the making, as husband and wife Jason and Nicole Hawkins decided that the only way to do it justice was to build their own recording studio, so that's exactly what they did. Jason Hawkins (an acoustic designer, builder & qualified audio engineer) and Nicole Hawkins (a qualified graphic designer, illustrator & photographer) spent over seven years building their own commercial quality recording studio. They also started their own record label, Rock Hawk Records, and in their newly finished studio the next two years were spent recording and producing this debut album. Their aim was to produce a catchy, hook-laden, chorus-orientated album that, in the tradition of the Classic Rock albums of the seventies and eighties, was a pleasure to listen to from start to finish. They have achieved the latter in spades, and despite being an album that definitely fits the Rock genre, I believe it's commercial enough to cross over into the mainstream.

The band is naturally based around the excellent vocals of Nicole Hawkins, and although she contributes guitar (and writes all the songs) this is far from a one-woman show – husband Jason Hawkins (Taxiride touring guitarist) handles lead guitars, his brother Mark Hawkins is on drums, Jerome Smith on bass, and Chris Lugton on keyboards and rhythm guitar make up the rest of this very tight band. There is great depth here, and some interesting subject matter within the songs.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The album kicks off with the Halestorm-like 'All Or Nothing'. The title track, with its spoken commentary (similar to Def Leppard's 'Gods Of War'), and the gloriously catchy 'Scar By Scar' exhibit the band's social conscience. The modern, Alternative Rock of 'Take Back Your Words' includes a piano intro, thumping bass and even a horn section. 'All I Planned (Catch Me If You Can)' is pure Romeo's Daughter, whilst 'Beneath The Surface' and the evocative 'Truth Of A Lie' are the excellent output that you would normally reserve for the likes of Pat Benatar and Neil Geraldo. 'Domino' is an emotive ballad, and 'Grey Skies' is yet another song that captivates. The final song on the album, and my personal favourite is the riff-tastic 'Come Fighting', which could easily have been on the last Nubian Rose album.

This sensational debut sits nicely alongside other Female-Fronted Rock acts such as Halestorm, NR, RD and Benatar.

Mark Donnelly

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 2 days ago
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us