CD Reviews

The Doobie Brothers - 'World Gone Crazy' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     November 23, 2010    
0.0 (0)
4076   0   1   0   0   0


A great return to form for the legendary band.

For fans of the Doobie Brothers it’s been a long 10 year wait since the bands last studio release ‘Sibling Rivalry’. Pat Simmons, Tom Johnstone, John McFee and Mike Hossack reunite with long time producer Ted Templeman to release their latest offering ‘World Gone Crazy’.

The subdued gospel overtones of ‘A Brighter Day’ start things off and its clear Tom Johnstone has lost none of his distinctive vocal abilities. Listening to a Doobie Brothers album is like revisiting an old friend and it’s much the same here, the band stick to the formula of ‘if its not broke don’t fix it’ to fine results. ‘Chateau’ leans heavily on the formula of the bands comeback single ‘The Doctor’ and it’s this style of writing that always works for the band. The Guitars take centre stage and the strong chorus takes us back in time to the glorious 70s heyday of the band.

Some fine steel guitar introduces us to new single ‘Nobody’, which has a strong country rock style and as always some wonderful vocal harmonies on the chorus. Much like Lynyrd Skynyrd there are so few bands that can pull this style of music off with any conviction. What is apparent after only a few spins is that the songs really get under your skin and its clear the guys have put some serious time and effort into the song writing.
Title track ‘World Gone Crazy’ has the feel good factor including a spot on saxophone solo all wrapped up in a rock‘n’roll line dancing rhythm that has you reaching for your Stetson and cowboy boots! ‘Far From Home,’ with its lullaby vocals, is very reminiscent of America and mid 70s Beach Boys, its pure magic to your ears with some lush harmonies on offer.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

If like me you favour the Michael McDonald era of the band then ‘Don’t Say Goodbye’ featuring the man himself will keep you happy. There is a strong Latin flavour to the song not to dissimilar to some of Greg Rolies solo work. Some lovely Jazz piano gives the song a feel very reminiscent of Steely Dan, a band that Michael McDonald worked with in the past. Depending on your preference regarding the bands two main eras this is a standout track.
The blues work out ‘My baby’ is pleasant but somewhat predictable song that, lets face it, the band can write in their sleep.
Keeping with the strong Latin flavour ‘Old Jaurez’ owes more than a nod to Santana, but don’t take that as a put down. In the hands of the Doobie Brothers the guys add their distinctive style and the song is their own.

Country legend Willie Nelson adds his touch to ‘I Know We Won’, a song I did not expect to like, I find country very hit or miss for my tastes but the beauty of the melody certainly pulls on the heart strings.

To add to the value of this release there is a 30 minute dvd which includes videos of the singles ‘Nobody’ and ‘I Know We Won’ featuring Willie Nelson. There is a short band history, including live footage, plus the band fooling around by the famous Doobie Liner aeroplane. In all a great return to form for the legendary band, my one criticism is the abstract artwork and the lack of the classic eagle band logo makes the cover very easy to miss.

Ray Paul

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  February 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
      1  2  3
  4  5  6  7  8  910

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 1 week ago
  • Johns Band : Happy New year Everyone. Will the music film return.
  • Rocktopia Te : The Rocktopia Team would like to wish you a Merry Christmas! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #85 is out now!
  • Berny : @Bill24: Please follow the instructions at «link» or contact me directly at «email»
  • Bill24 : I cannot unzip the mp3's asking for a password. Same one I use to login with? Please someone help. Thanks.
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny
  • Berny : The FREE PDF version of Fireworks #82 is still available, including 88 (!!) bonus MP3 songs Just click on the banner on top of the site. Already 800+ downloads and counting!
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Apologies! Link was fixed, CD 84 is now available from the FIREWORKS menu on top of the page (for registered members only). Thanks & best wishes, B :)
  • SeaDog57 : Doesn't seem to be a download for bonus cd 84 just 2 identical versions of Bonus CD 83?
  • Rocktopia Te : Interviews with Lordi, Dee Snider, W.A.S.P., Myles Kennedy and many more. Check out the Fireworks & Rocktopia interview sections!
  • Berny : We are proud to premiere the new lyric video by MASS! Check out the news section.
  • Berny : Hi biggywiggymusic: Sorted out, apologies for the delay.
  • biggywiggymu : Hi I just ordered download of 84 - took my PayPal and then it said I didn't pay. Have the transaction number. Can someone help?
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #84 is out now!!
  • amcc1888 : Thanks Berny
  • Berny : @amcc1888: Please check your mail. Many thanks, B.
  • amcc1888 : Hi There i have ordered Fireworks Issue 83 and paid by PayPal but you have charged me twice but the download has not appeared in my account...also sent you a web contact message..anyone there to help me thanks Tony
  • Berny : We proudly present the new lyric video by AMERICAN TEARS, pls. check out our newsfeed!
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 500 live reviews on Rocktopia! Check out the latest ones, incl. Iron Maiden, Steven Tyler and Steelhouse Festival 2018!
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Purchases were added to your account. Sorry for the troubles, not sure why you are still having issues with the DL store. Pls. check your mail. Many thanks & best wishes, B.
  • Transmet1972 : Sent another email re new purchase. Same download issue. Thanks.
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Support received your message, I already sent a reply.
  • Transmet1972 : Site wont allow me to send ticket to support.
  • Transmet1972 : I cant access the files for 2 downloadable mags i purchased. Site wint
  • Graham : Hi guys i wonder if anyone knows what happend to Greg Parker who formed the band Ozz that released 2 Lps in 1980,
  • Berny : HEAVEN'S TRAIL premiere their new lyric video on Rocktopia. Check out the news section ... «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : @Berny did another lyric video for ROYAL HUNT. Pls. check out our news aection and watch the video on YouTube ... «link»
  • Hysteria : @ Rocktopia Team: GREAT SONG & VIDEO!!! Thanks for sharing!
  • Rocktopia Te : EXCLUSIVE Guild Of Ages music video premiere! Check out «link» ! Did you like the video? Please send us your comments!
  • Berny : Check out the new live reviews: http;//

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site