CD Reviews

Rage Of Angels - 'The Devil's New Tricks' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     November 07, 2016    
0.0 (0)
3738   0   1   0   0   1




Absolutely essential listening.

Early 2103 saw former Ten and current Tyketto keyboard player Ged Rylands return from hiatus with his Rage Of Angels project. 'Dreamworld' was a phenomenally good debut album, enhanced by the amazing selection of featured vocalists that included Danny Vaughn, Harry Hess, Robert Hart and Ralf Scheepers, along with a selection of guest instrumentalists. Needless to say, a follow-up was always going to be an eagerly awaited affair and 'The Devil's New Tricks' certainly doesn't disappoint!

Although the intention was for '...New Tricks' to again feature a number of guest singers, the vocals throughout the whole album have been delivered in style by former Saga, Final Frontier and solo singer Rob Moratti – for the full reason why see my interview with Rylands elsewhere this issue. There is more of a constant band approach with regard to the music this time; Rylands supplies all rhythm guitars and keyboards, the Coldspell duo of Perra Johansson (drums) and Chris Goldsmith (bass) return along with guitarist Neil Fraser, while also introduced to the Rage Of Angels line-up is Rylands' Tyketto band-mate, the frighteningly talented guitarist Chris Green, whose contribution is simply awesome.

Every band needs a signature song and 'R.O.A.' is the stupendous opener destined to become a future classic. A stylish keyboard crescendo interweaves around a pulsating drum roll before the song erupts into a rampaging Power Metal-tinged anthem, slightly reminiscent of Pretty Maids' 'Pandemonium', with a wondrous lyric that is adapted from a poem written by Fireworks' very own illustrious Editor Bruce Mee! The awesome guitar/keyboard/guitar duel simply adds to the enjoyment!

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

The best way to follow such a dynamic opener is with a slick AOR anthem, and the sublime 'All Your Own Way' with its dazzling chorus is exactly that. Elsewhere, 'The Devil's New Tricks' is a vibrant Rocker with a Bluesy undercurrent, 'I Feel It In My Heart' is constructed around a Journey-ish keyboard melody, the clever lyrics of 'Strangers In The Night' pay homage to one of Rylands' biggest influences, 'Stop Changing The T.V.' is a lively Rocker, while the beautiful mid-tempo ballad 'Love Will Never Die' is seven minutes of pure delight.

Although 'The Devil's New Tricks' is a less dramatic and theatrical record than the debut and features more of a straight-forward AOR/Melodic Rock approach, it's by no means inferior. Once again Rylands allows the music to breathe with some dynamic and lengthy arrangements, embellished by the amazing instrumentalists involved, resulting in an album that is an absolute joy from start to finish.

Absolutely essential listening!

Ant Heeks

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  July 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 3 weeks, 3 days ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site