CD Reviews

Galahad - 'When Worlds Collide' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     November 07, 2016    
0.0 (0)
986   0   1   0   0   0






A twenty-nine track, two-disc retrospective to signal the thirtieth year of Galahad.

Reaching milestones often gives us reason to revisit the past, hence 'When Worlds Collide', a twenty-nine track, two-disc retrospective arrives to signal the thirtieth year of Galahad. Not just a straight "Best of", '.... Collide' instead brings ten vintage (1985-1997) but newly re-recorded tracks alongside another nine which received similar refurbishment between 2012 and 2014. The re-record idea certainly seems to be "flavour of the month" amongst many bands, however '... Collide' is possibly the best example of the format I've encountered; Galahad, confident enough to re-arrange and re-work their earliest Neo-Prog recordings into the more rounded and expansive Prog style the band now specialise in. Sonically, with a mix from the in-demand Threshold man Karl Groom, songs such as 'Lady Messiah', 'Dreaming From The Inside' or 'Exorcising Demons' sound amazingly fresh and vibrant, standing up superbly against the more contemporary selections housed on disc two. The only down-side being that the updating of the old cuts makes it impossible to witness the evolution of the band; with even the oldest tracks sounding as current as those first recorded just a couple of years ago.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

However, whether it's through 2012's more boisterous 'Singularity', 'Guardian Angel' and 'Seize The Day', or the atmospheric surge of 'Room 801' (which genuinely made the hairs on the back of my neck stand on end by closing with the authoritative tones of much missed legendary DJ Tommy Vance, as he introduced the band members on his Friday Rock Show some twenty six years ago), the effect remains equally mesmerizing. The three later cuts are the only ones not to be re-recorded; Groom's hand already having masterfully crafted these wonderful pieces of music to near perfection. It has to be said that he's done likewise with everything from 'Richelieu's Prayer' (originally 1990) to 'The Chase' (1988) and all else in between. The dramatic vocals from Stuart Nicholson are allowed to shine against a backdrop of Dean Baker's glistening keyboard work, Spencer Luckman's thunderous beats and Roy Keyworth's stinging guitar (bass on the album comes from a mixture of Tim Ashton, Lee Abraham, Darryl Watts and the much missed Neil Pepper who sadly passed away in 2011).

The band's hope is that this stunning collection can "act as a taster to those yet to dip their toes into the world of Galahad" – a sentiment I can't endorse strongly enough. However, I'd suggest, unlike many retrospectives, for long term fans of the band this release is indispensable; the new recordings often a revelation as they add nuances referencing both some of the band's other songs and their wider influences. I'd go as far as to suggest these versions are definitive. Therefore, congratulations to Galahad for surviving beyond their third decade, and the fact they are thriving to this day is even more impressive than this release... and that's saying something!

Steven Reid

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 1 day ago
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us