CD Reviews

Steve Lukather - 'All's Well That Ends Well' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     November 25, 2010    
0.0 (0)
2988   0   1   0   0   0

New album by Toto's Steve Lukather.

Guitar virtuoso Steve Lukather is a bit of an enigma when it comes to his solo albums. It can never be predicted what the Toto mainstay will deliver and his sixth album is no exception. I was especially fond of his 2008 release ‘Ever Changing Times’, which was a heady mixture of his rock, pop, jazz and fusion sides, and I suppose ‘All’s Well That Ends Well’ covers the same wide spectrum but with most of the album hovering around the middle ground between all these genres without going overboard on any of them.

Steve first album for the Mascot label is sadly accompanied by a press sheet that tells you nothing about who plays on it or is involved in it other than The Tubes’ Fee Waybill helped with the backing vocals and songwriting and famous session keyboardist C.J. Vanston helped write some songs too. What is clear is that Luke has been through some other turmoil in his life besides Toto falling apart, with a big melancholy vibe running through the lyrics of ‘Darkness In My World’, ‘Can’t Look Back’ and ‘Don’t Say It’s Over’. Musically those are three of the strongest tracks, DIMY starting with an atmospheric intro and samples and turning into a Toto-like melodic rocker with laid–back jazzy parts punctuated by big guitar riffs, fretless bass runs and a typically smooth guitar solo. ‘Can’t Look Back’ is probably the rockiest track with a great solo and big chorus but is still built around a mellow verse, whilst ‘Don’t Say It’s Over’ is Lukather’s big ballad with another jazzy instrumental workout and superb emotional guitar solo.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The mellow jazzy tracks abound with the westcoast vibe of ‘On My Way Home’, the groovy ‘Brodie’s’ and the bluesy ‘Flash In The Pan’, whilst the progressive fusion instrumental ‘Tumescent’ and melodic rocker ‘Watching The World’ are other highlights, the latter featuring some of Lukather’s best vocals and soulful guitar playing.

On the whole this is one of Steve Lukather’s more introspective records and at nine tracks a little on the short side too. I would say that it’s closest to his ‘Luke’ album in style and if you’re already a fan of the man you’ll love it. Without putting his creative energy into Toto it’ll be interesting to see how his solo career develops from here.

Phil Ashcroft

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 5 days, 23 hours ago
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us