CD Reviews

Whiskey Myers - 'Mud' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     November 27, 2016    
0.0 (0)
1533   0   1   0   0   0




Whiskey Myers are on the verge of superstardom.

Eighteen months after the release of previous album 'Early Morning Shakes', and barely a year since the major label re-release of their second effort 'Firewater', comes album four from the Texan Southern Rockers Whiskey Myers, which for anybody previously unfamiliar with the band means a lot of great new music in a relatively short space of time.

While bands like A Thousand Horses are taking the Southern/Country hybrid sound in a more polished direction, and the excellent Blackberry Smoke are riding high with their Rock 'n' Roll take on the genre, WM are the one band that are really pushing the boundaries by dolloping a whole load of gritty Led Zeppelin swagger onto their rootsy Southern/Country blueprint, infusing Soul and Blues in the process.

That said, 'Mud' is the most concise WM album to date at just ten tracks, having none of the unusual arrangements the band are known for, or any of the sprawling Southern ballads that were a highlight of the previous records. That is something that makes this record their most instantly accessible and definitely most commercial from a cynical point of view. The sassy, brass-laden 'Lightning Bugs And Rain' and the Soulful, almost Motown-ish 'Some Of Your Love' certainly justifying that argument. However, it strengthens the viewpoint that WM are capable of turning their hand to anything and making it work,

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The Rocktopia website uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

I accept cookies from this site.
EU Cookie Directive plugin by

As opener 'On The River' sashays in on a picked acoustic and fiddle melody, another facet of WM broadening their horizons is revealed, as the line-up has expanded to a seven-piece with the addition of fiddler and keyboardist Jon Knudson and percussionist Tony Kent on a permanent basis. The Folky campfire sing-along 'Good Ole Days' is a simplistic acoustic ditty, recorded live with the band sitting in a circle.

The Zeppelin-infused Southern Rock stompers like 'Mud', 'Deep Down In The South' and 'Hank' (a tribute to Mr. Williams) are still very much a huge part of the WM sound, while the riff-heavy 'Frogman' was co-written with The Black Crowes' Rich Robinson, yet it's still the ballads that I love the most. The slow-burning 'Stone' features a Gospel-ish vibe while the touching acoustic ballad 'Trailer We Call Home' demonstrates that front-man Cody Cannon can tell a story just as well as the late, great Ronnie Van Zant.

Like their contemporaries Blackberry Smoke, Whiskey Myers are on the verge of superstardom.

Ant Heeks

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  April 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  2  3  4  5  6  7  8

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks ago
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 6000 album reviews on Rocktopia!
  • Berny : Saxon, Gizmodrome, Skid Row, Night Ranger, Magnum, Joe Bonamassa & many more! Check out the latest LIVE reviews on Rocktopia! «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


The Rocktopia website uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

I accept cookies from this site.
EU Cookie Directive plugin by