CD Reviews

Jaded Past - 'Believe' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     November 30, 2016    
0.0 (0)
1019   0   1   0   0   0





Definitely a little bit Country but with a lot of Rock 'n' Roll, Jaded Past should be put on your buy list today.

When the promo material shouted the words "Henry", "Lee" and "summer" at me, I was immediately interested, as I have a real fondness for poor ol' Henry Lee and his style of Country Rock. As a genre, it can be an odd beat, though; it can be fascinating and creative, like John Mellencamp used to do, all the way to samey and dull, just like Bon Jovi have been doing for far too long now. Jaded Past, the musical baby of vocalist/guitarist/song-writer George Becker, are stuck firmly at the end BJ used to be in, mixing a definite Country feel with a comfortable bit of Rocking thrown in.

George Becker himself has a suitably raspy set of pipes that bring to mind modern day Bret Michaels crossed with Jon Bon Jovi. Becker writes songs that cruise along with a summery feel just begging for a convertible with the top down and a mountain road. The BJ comparisons are unavoidable as 'Believe' could be the lost BJ album song-wise, the one they made before they got boring.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

For example, 'Good, Bad, Innocent' has a wonderful upbeat feel, with lyrics that talk of days gone by and a sing-along chorus, and if that ain't a BJ recipe then I don't know what is; great song, either way. Becker also brings to the table a real knack for guitar solos throughout the album with every one seemingly crafted perfectly for the song that contains it. This may seem obvious but it stands out here more than on other albums.

'Believe' is up there with the best of this year's "summer" records and is a shoe in for anyone who likes their Rock with a Country feel but still hard enough to be called Rock. Stick this on in the car on a hot summer day and the miles will fly by. Definitely a little bit Country but with a lot of Rock 'n' Roll, Jaded Past should be put on your buy list today.

Alan Holloway

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  November 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 1 day ago
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our RevĂ­ews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!
  • rocktopiarob : Hi in the Bad For Good review - please replace "Rundgren's absurdly genius guitar playing" with "Davey Johnstone's absurdly genius guitar playing"

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us