CD Reviews

Jericho Summer - 'Night Train' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     December 13, 2016    
0.0 (0)
1233   0   1   0   0   0




I feel the album as a whole could be a little too "Country" for the average Fireworks & Rocktopia reader.

Jericho Summer is a husband and wife duo – Jay Zeffin and Vanessa Joy. Essentially very Country (especially lyrically), there are plenty of Southern Rock hints too thanks to some fine guitar work. Both Zeffin and Joy sing, whether it be alternating on lead vocal duties or dueting and harmonising, with Zeffin's slightly gruffer delivery complementing Joy's more powerful Shania Twain meets Heart's Ann Wilson style.

It is actually the studio musicians featured on the album, however, that will be of the most interest to Fireworks & Rocktopia readers; mainly Journeyman bassist Marco Mendoza (Whitesnake, Thin Lizzy, Black Star Riders etc.), Grammy Award-winning guitarist Albert Lee, and Guns 'N' Roses and The Dead Daisies axe-slinger Richard Fortus.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

There is an air of familiarity about many of the songs as they seem to be very similar in style to other songs that you can't quite put your finger on, but the one I have the most issue with is 'Lonely Town', which is virtually a re-write of Blackberry Smoke's 'One Horse Town' – it's not just similar, it's a blatant rip-off! On that note, there is also a cover of BBS's 'Good One Comin' On' that can't hold a candle to the original or the more Country version by Trent Willmon; Jericho Summer's version has a little more tempo to it, therefore stripping the song of its swagger and groove. Also on the downside, the production isn't great, with the drums occasionally having an annoying echo (unless my promo has a defect).

Negatives aside, the opening cuts 'Night Train' and '100 Times Again' are lively Country Rock numbers with entertaining guitar runs and certainly wouldn't sound out of place on one of The Eagles albums from the debut to 'On The Border', while 'Bitchin' With A Woman', 'Does It Matter' and the power ballad 'Coming Home' display the duo's more Southern tendencies, but I feel the album as a whole could be a little too "Country" for the average Fireworks & Rocktopia reader.

Ant Heeks

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 2 days ago
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us