Saxon - 'Let Me Feel Your Power' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     December 17, 2016    
0.0 (0)
2079   0   1   0   0   0





A great value package of music from one of our most treasured Heavy Metal bands.

With this being offered in a variety of formats – Blu-Ray/2CD, DVD/2CD, vinyl as well as digital download – there is something for all audio persuasions with the release of 'Let Me Feel Your Power' which is Saxon's tenth live release to date would you believe? Given the audio discs consist of effectively the same tracks, I decided to focus this review on the visual portion of this release.

Beginning with Munich show, it is clear Saxon are more than just a nostalgia act. The set touches on their recent releases 'Sacrifice' and 'Battering Ram' as well as classics like 'Motorcycle Man' and 'Heavy Metal Thunder'. The cameras capture all the sweat and atmosphere of a Saxon show in all its glory, in a venue that looks like an aircraft hangar full of crazy Heavy Metal maniacs. Singer Biff Byford truly defies his age vocally and physically as he head-bangs and screams out the lyrics in superb fashion. Fans throw old-school denim jackets on stage, emblazoned with patches and badges, only for the entire band to end up wearing them by the end of the show.

I am surprised Nigel Glocker's name does not come up more often when legendary Metal drummers are mentioned, his work during '20,000 Feet' and 'Power And The Glory' is thunderous in an effortless way. Sadly, there was no Saxon Eagle on display for this tour, something I feel was a missed opportunity considering this was for a video release.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The Brighton show is in a small intimate venue and only features three songs, 'Eye Of The Storm', a monstrous 'Battalions Of Steel' and 'Requiem' which is dedicated to the late Lemmy Kilmister (Motörhead). It is a truly fitting tribute that all the fans in attendance seem to appreciate.

The Chicago show is lacking in both the picture quality and audience atmosphere compared to Munich. Unlike the crazy Germans and Brits of the previous shows, the American audiences just stand drinking their beer for the most part. Where it does succeed is in the more varied set-list, with old chestnuts like 'Backs To The Wall' are dusted down and delivered. 'Dallas 1PM,' featuring the twin guitars of Doug Scarrett and long-time member Paul Quinn, still raises the hairs on your neck. I especially enjoyed the seldom heard 'Rock The Nations' and the musically autobiographical 'Denim And Leather' which finally seem to awaken the sleepy US audience from their slumber.

Overall, this is a great value package of music from one of our most treasured Heavy Metal bands.

Ray Paul

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  August 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
   1  2  3  4  5  6
  7  8  910111213

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 days, 19 hours ago
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our Revíews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!
  • rocktopiarob : Hi in the Bad For Good review - please replace "Rundgren's absurdly genius guitar playing" with "Davey Johnstone's absurdly genius guitar playing"
  • LeChef : Thumbs up!!!
  • Central Elec : Five new live reviews!
  • Hysteria : Wow! GREAT Abums! What a fantastic read!!! Kudos to you guys for including an album review by "The Hoff". KITT will love it!!! : - )
  • Central Elec : Landmark reviews 4991 - 5000 are online
  • Berny : Landmark reviews 4981 - 4990 are online, have fun! :)
  • Central Elec : Landmark Album Reviews 4971 - 4980 are online.
  • Berny : Check out our EXCLUSIVE interview with André Andersen of ROYAL HUNT!
  • Berny : More information can be found here: «link»
  • Berny : @moorby_vj_li: Many thanks for your purchase. If you bought a physical copy of the magazine, you can download the bonus disc from the menu on top (Fireworks - > Bonus CD 77).
  • moorby_vj_li : Hi All, I have purchased Issue 77 but can not see a link to download the music, where would I go, thank you in advance
  • Berny : GRAVE DIGGER exclusive UK video premiere of 'Lawbreaker'! Check out the news!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us