Fireworks

DVD & Blu-ray Reviews

Nightwish - 'Vehicle Of Spirit' http://www.rocktopia.co.uk/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x200s/93/e3/f1/Nightwish-Vehicle-Of-Spirit-30-1482004277.jpg Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     December 17, 2016    
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
9969   0   1   0   0   0

Artist

Artist

Label

An essential purchase for Nightwish fans.

"The title 'Vehicle Of Spirit' came from a friend of Troy Donockley's, who after seeing our show a few years ago defined Nightwish as "A vehicle of spirit that defies category". That beautiful description has followed us ever since, and felt like a perfect match as the DVD title" – Tuomas Holopainen.

That rather wonderful description is rather apt, as Nightwish's music transcends a lot of barriers and has thousands upon thousands of fans who listen to their music on a near spiritual level. I happen to be one of them and one only has to witness the emotional outpourings at their concerts to understand how their music touches people. Admittedly, the Tarja Turunen years were the more transcendental and Nightwish suffered for a while after her very public departure until Anette Olzon found her feet and became accepted by the majority. The rather messy second fall-out after Olzon's acrimonious departure didn't help matters and Holopainen refused all questions regarding it. But when Floor Jansen stepped in to complete their 2012 North American tour she was the overwhelming fans choice to become the new permanent singer, and as the 'Showtime, Storytime' release showed, she was more than capable of filling the huge shoes of both previous singers.

Thus we come to this release that documents the eighteen month 'Endless Forms Most Beautiful' world tour which lasted from April 2015 in New York, USA through to October 2016 in Saitama, Japan, and at the same time celebrates the twentieth anniversary of the band. It features three discs – two complete live shows and a compilation of songs filmed live at various concerts on the tour, alongside a short interview with professor Richard Dawkins conducted just before the Wembley show.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site


Holopainen wanted to document the two most special shows of the world tour and he chose Wembley due to its recognisability on the world stage and its legendary status. He remembers all the artistes and bands throughout the decades that have played there, many of whom are the band members' heroes, and wanted to be able to say "Good evening Wembley" out loud. He described the twelve thousand sold out crowd as "heart-warming" and the overall experience as a "once-in-a-lifetime thrill ride" – both beautiful and poetic. Thus, on December 19th 2015 Nightwish also became the first Finnish band to ever headline at Wembley Arena and I am very proud and blessed to have been there to witness such an amazing night, completed of course by professor Richard Dawkins walking on stage at the end to narrate his spoken part personally at the end of 'The Greatest Show On Earth'.

The other show was at Ratina Stadion in Tampere on July 31st, 2015. This was a sold-out twenty thousand home crowd speciality for four members of the band and featured the biggest stage production in their history with massive pyrotechnics, raging wind effects and hypnotic video screens aligned to each song. Holopainen described the show as having "a lovely atmosphere throughout with many of the same faces in the front row as there were fifteen years ago".

The Wembley show features seven of the eleven numbers from the album '...Beautiful', Jansen's first, whilst the Tampere show additionally featured the title track. Wembley also includes three from 'Imaginaerum' and Tampere two, and both shows feature two different songs each from 'Dark Passion Play' that covers Olzon's era in the band. That left just four Tarja numbers at Wembley and five in Tampere for Jansen to cover, including 'Stargazers' (from second album 'Oceanborn') which was played on tour for the first time in over a decade; Jansen sings Operatically in a wonderful reference to Tarja. On the bonus disc we see the first ever live (acoustic) rendition of 'Edema Ruh' and 'Sahara', the only number not to feature at either Wembley or Tampere, plus we get to see the wonderful outfits as worn by Jansen and some great T-shirts and even a kilt from Marco Hietala. The quality of the production is outstanding, the camera angles are effective and Jansen looks genuinely elated to be fronting the band, whilst Kai Hahto is also an excellent stand-in for Jukka Nevalainen. An essential purchase for Nightwish fans.

Carl Buxton

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

 


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


busy

Member Login



Calendar

<<  October 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 3 weeks, 2 days ago
  • daveomd : Got it along with my download, everything looks great! Thanks, Dave
  • Berny : @daveomd: We sent you a mail immediately after your purchase, and have just sent another email now. Please contact me at «email» should you not receive it. Many thanks!
  • daveomd : I purchased your latest issue #92 but never received my download.
  • Berny : @Hysteria & @KI2000: Many thanks for your kind words! :)
  • Hysteria : Received my download copy almost immediately and downloaded 50 magazines for free. Cannot complain! Thanks guys!!!
  • KI2000 : Love the new issue guys, great magazine!
  • Berny : @Mugi89: Your confirmation mail was sent on the 22nd, I've just sent it again. Please contact me at «email» should you not receive it. Many thanks!
  • Mugi89 : Hi! I purchased my digital copy of issue 92 2 days ago but still didn't receive it. When am I gonna be able to download it? thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Your mail was forwarded to the Fireworks team yesterday, I am going to ask them again. Sorry for the delay!
  • Berny : @Mitch Perry: Your order was received at 4AM local time. As stated on the order page, all payments have to be processed manually. Your copy of Fireworks 92 was added to your download section, many thanks for the purchase.
  • Berny : @RobC68: I sent you two emails explaining the situation. There's not much more I can do for you at the moment, so I'd suggest you stop buying the magazine. Thanks.
  • zom414 : Still not received the latest issue by post, I've emailed as well but not heard anything. Can you let me know what's happening please?
  • Mitch Perry : Can I have my download link, please? Issue 92 22 Sep 2020 07:57:11 BST Paypal Transaction ID: 1BS38875MX3700248
  • RobC68 : purchased issue 92 in download version. been waiting more than a day....PATHETIC SERVICE as it happens with every purchase!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Berny : @rgilman: Please check your e - mail for download instructions.
  • rgilman : Hello I bought the Deep Purple issue how do I download it? Thanks
  • Berny : @jharper36: Please check your e - mail.
  • jharper36 : Hi, i purchased the download of issue #92. How do I download it?
  • Berny : @loudjlopez: Sorry for the troubles, pls. check your mail. Many thanks!
  • loudjlopez@m : Any word on my digital download of issue 91. Paid on Saturday. It is Tuesday. Thanks
  • loudjlopez@m : Paid for Fireworks #91 for digital download. No word since Saturday and it is Monday.
  • Berny : @fdr: Magazines were sent on Monday. Thanks for your purchase and best regards, B. :)
  • fdr : Hi, yesterday (august 12th) I sent you a payment for 21GBP for the purchase of issues 91 and 82 of Fireworks magazine. (code 7D3182072X778721A) but still haven't received a word od confirmation. Can you please check?
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us

FacebookTwitterYoutubeGoogle

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site