Alan Byrne - 'Are You Ready, Thin Lizzy: Album By Album' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     December 19, 2016    
3950   0   1   0   0   0

This book has a valid and well-deserved claim to be a key book regarding Lizzy.

Published by: Soundcheck Books

Alan Byrne has written a fine and detailed account of all the Thin Lizzy albums (both in the studio and live). In doing that, he has in effect chronicled the life and times of the band and covered the various issues that surrounded many of the band members. A highlight for me is the number of key first hand interviews the author has carried out and included in this book – nearly all the band members (save for the great Phil Lynott himself obviously) and many of the producers/engineers/road crew that made the band great.

Keeping on message though, the book diligently covers the key tracks from each album with lots of descriptions on how the song changed from its demo form, who did the solo and the general mood of the band at the time. Clearly a huge Robbo fan, Byrne gives all guitarists their due - Snowy White, Gary Moore, Scott Gorham and Robbo himself and also includes quotes from the first guitarist, namely Eric Bell. The book tells of the audition of Darren Wharton where in preparation he had actually learnt every Lizzy song (just to be sure of getting the gig, I presume).

The song-writing and in particular lyric-writing of Lynott is discussed in depth – at his best the book declares him a genius but in latter days the author would appear to be slightly less enamoured with some of his offerings. 'Jailbreak' is seen in the book as the zenith of the band, augmented by the later 'Live And Dangerous' and then the real magic was over. The book testifies though that as the band were such good musicians, things never got bad – just not as good as before with just a handful of songs per album having the wow factor.

The overall tale of the band is quite well known already but with this clear focus on the band's recordings, this book has a valid and well-deserved claim to be a key book regarding Lizzy.

Rob McKenzie

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Share this on the web.

Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  October 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  2  3  4  5  6  7  8

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 day, 13 hours ago
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us