CD Reviews

Jordi Castilla & Carta Magna - 'Mirate' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     December 25, 2016    
0.0 (0)
1221   0   1   0   0   0






A kaleidoscope of musical sounds that all maintain that Spanish slant on the Melodic Rock sound.

Spain seems to be a current hotbed for Rock music right now. The likes of The Val, Eldorado and Showbiz are all making their mark on the European music scene, whilst all maintaining their own unique sound; Jordi Castilla & Carta Magna is no exception.

'Mirate', which translates into 'Look At You' in English, is the bands third release but I must admit to not having heard of the band before. The five-piece band, hailing from Seville, consists of band leader Jordi Castilla – who contributes vocals, guitar and keyboards – alongside the rhythm section of Marc Cirera (bass) and Pablo Estevez (drums) as well as two additional vocalists in Daniel Hidalgo and Ana Perea who do a fantastic job of building each other's sound.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The album is sung entirely in Spanish, a language I only have a basic understanding of, yet I found myself imaging lyrics that went along with the beautiful rhythm's that managed to Rock as well as make you feel laid back and transported to foreign shores. Highlights are the title track and 'La Ultima Cancion' which also features a guest appearance from Harem Scarem's Pete Lesperance. The song is also repeated as the last track with a guest appearance from highly respected Spanish artist Rafa Martin.

'Mirate' is a kaleidoscope of musical sounds that all maintain that Spanish slant on the Melodic Rock sound; at times incorporating some Flamenco Rock and showing the influence of early Santana whilst still keeping a Modern Rock slant. The multi-layered vocals of the trio give the album a real depth aided by top class production that makes this album a very easy listen. If you can get over the fact it is entirely in Spanish, the music is well worth exploring.

The sound of a Spanish summer might not be everyone's glass of Sangria, but if you give it a try you might just enjoy the rhythm.

Mick Parry

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 1 day ago
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us