CD Reviews

Evan - 'Blue Lightning' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     December 25, 2016    
0.0 (0)
996   0   1   0   0   0






Proudly carries the genre's baton, and reinforces the fact that highly technical, guitar-centric music will never perish.

Successfully distilling some of the iconic personalities of the modern day Shred movement, 'Blue Lightning' by Evan (aka Evan K) will immediately resonate to many aspiring Rock guitarists. The album opens with the acoustic 'Rising Properties', which will draw immediate comparison to 'Black Star', the preamble which ushered in the Neo-Classical Shred guitar movement for Yngwie J. Malmsteen's 'Rising Force'. The song is followed by 'Into The Night', a double-bass juggernaut featuring some nimble interplay with keyboardist Bob Katsionis (Firewind), which also draws resemblance to that landmark recording as executed by the fleet-fingered pair of Jens Johansson and Malmsteen. The eight minute plus mini opus entitled 'Orchestra Of Withered Clouds' is a particular highlight, and clearly illustrates Evan's compositional talents. On the title track, his deft right hand pays homage to John Petrucci's sense of phrasing and accomplished alternate picking. It's also another fine example of his ability to write with a European Power Metal flair and features some of his strongest melodic ideas.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Evan's ode to Jason Becker and the highly influential 'Perpetual Burn' is most apparent on 'Skies Of Shred', which showcases his massive sweeping chops and colorful use of chromaticism. Out of the nine tracks, the last three include vocals, with the best and most diverse being the penultimate track, the ballad 'One Last Time'. All are not as consistent, however, for the biggest miss comes in the form of the closer, a cover of Black 's 'Everything Is Coming Up Roses'. The vocals are delivered in a style similar to the late Pete Steele (Type-O-Negative) and are just out of step with the rest of the album. Although the inclusion of several vocal tracks offers a nice change from all the musical gymnastics, it would have suited Evan better to have constructed an entirely instrumental album. While the talented 21 year old has garnered multiple musical equipment endorsements, and possesses an impressive vocabulary of chops, his playing ultimately falls more in line with imitation over innovation.

Regardless, for those who still lust after the golden age of "Shred", Evan is your guy. 'Blue Lightning' proudly carries the genre's baton, and reinforces the fact that highly technical, guitar-centric music will never perish.

Brent Rusche

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  December 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
      1  2  3
  4  5  6  7  8  910

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 5 days ago
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our RevĂ­ews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us