CD Reviews

General Greed - 'Rectifying For Justice' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 13, 2017    
0.0 (0)
1375   0   1   0   0   0




Doesn't have enough interesting content to make it worth checking out.

I instantly liked the look of this album, with its snappy cover featuring a rather slutty, blind Lady Justice done in a smart comic book style. It hinted at something a little rebellious, maybe angry at the world, maybe putting shit to right. Such high hopes are often dashed, however, and General Greed aren't really angry young Swedes at all. Shame, as a little righteous fire is always entertaining.

Whilst the band is credited as the brainchild of Andreas Rosen and Richard Loow, in reality it's Loow who writes all the songs, sings and plays guitar, whilst Rosen contributes the bass. Hopefully he had more of an input than that to get his picture in the booklet, but that's the only credit he gets. Both come from the band Looks Like Lucy, but this spin-off project lacks the fire of LLL, who are credited with some great, passionate tracks.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Loow himself has a low vocal range that is hard to really enjoy, similar to the bloke from The Misfits but without the charm. 'Rectifying For Justice' is musically quite basic, with a fair pinch of melody and a hint of attitude in a few songs, but ultimately it's not very interesting. Tracks like 'Endless', 'Angels' and 'Never Free' have a decent pace and definite replay value, but they are counterbalanced by dull songs like 'Sweet Insanity', which made me want to kick the nearest wall or furry animal.

In the end, 'Rectifying For Justice' doesn't have enough interesting content to make it worth checking out, and even the best songs wouldn't stand out on a better album. Personally I don't find the vocals very entertaining, but it's not like Loow is a shouter or anything, he just doesn't click with me. So it's a thumbs down from me, although I would frame the cover art, if that's any consolation.

Alan Holloway

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks ago
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us