CD Reviews

Graham Bonnet Band - 'The Book' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 13, 2017    
0.0 (0)
1275   0   1   0   0   0





A stunner.

I approached this new album from one of my all-time favourite singers, Graham Bonnet, with some trepidation. Basically, it's because it's been quite some time since he has recorded an album with all new material and I was a little worried as to what he would come up with on 'The Book'. After only a couple of plays of this album, however, all of those pesky worries were blown away by Bonnet and his superb new band, which consists of Jimmy Waldo, Mark Zonder, Beth-Ami Heavenstone and Conrad Pesinato. Between them they've put together a wonderfully entertaining album full of classic Hard Rock songs which encompass the heart and soul of many of Bonnet's past groups. There are little bits of Rainbow, MSG and Alcatrazz scattered all over this album. Yet, just as it should be, the star of the whole thing is Bonnet himself. His full-throated vocal roar bringing life, energy and vigour to the eleven tracks that make up '...Book' and the melodies he wrings out of every note has kept me coming back to this album time and again.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

My personal favourites include 'Into The Night', 'Earth's Child (I Am Your Son)', 'Dead Man Walking', the Bonnet solo written song 'Rider' (which is pure 'Disturbing The Peace' Alcatrazz), 'The Dance' and the title track. However, what I think is more important than the music is Bonnet's obvious new-found/re-found love for Rock music. It's in every single note played and sung on this album and he sounds happier and more into the songs and music than he has in many, many years. If that wasn't enough, you also get a bonus disc containing sixteen re-recorded versions of classic tracks from Bonnet's past, including 'Eyes Of The World', and 'Lost In Hollywood' by Rainbow, solo cuts 'Night Games' and 'S.O.S.', MSG's 'Dancer' and 'Desert Song', 'Island In The Sun', 'God Blessed Video' from Alcatrazz, and 'Stand In Line' by Impellitteri... plus many more.

All in all, this is a wonderful return from Graham Bonnet, and 'The Book' is an album that any fan of anything he's ever done before can pick up, put on and enjoy without a care in the world. A stunner.

Ian Johnson

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 1 day ago
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us