Tyketto http://www.rocktopia.co.uk/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x200s/50/47/2e/Tyketto-Live-Review1-91-1485893187.jpg Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 31, 2017    
0.0 (0)
1420   0   1   0   0   0



Tyketto - O2 Academy, Liverpool (UK) - 21 January 2017

2016's UK Tour (with Dan Reed Network) was a 25th Anniversary celebration of the seminal 'Don't Come Easy' album and saw every song played, in reverse order (for obvious reasons). Despite being released towards the end of 2017, the 'Reach' album was met with critical appraisal and made many Top 5's in the Fireworks playlists. This current tour was re-scheduled due to personal issues, so the crowd was more than eager when the intro tape began and the high temperatures in the room managed to get even higher.

'Kick Like A Mule' opened up and did just that, setting the tone for the next one hundred minutes. What is apparent is that the newer songs, as in your face as they may come across when listening to the album, have a bigger impact in the live environment. The set is a great mix of old and new and covers pretty much all the back catalogue. The big surprise is the inclusion of 'Let It Go', from the 'Shine' album, the one that Danny Vaughn did not sing on. Every song is appreciated in the same way. Classics and new songs sit nicely next to each other, as though from the same era. It is hard to believe that some are twenty-five years older than others as the vibe and resonance is just the same.

The rejuvenated line-up is now settled and everyone seems more than comfortable with each other on stage. Bass player Chris Childs unassuming persona belies the role he plays and he is locked in tight with drummer Michael Clayton Arbeeny. Ged Rylands recruitment was an inspired move. Not only does he add some great keyboard touches that enhance the sound but his backing vocals add more depth. Guitarist Chris Green is a perfect fit for the band and he has fantastic versatility.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

He knows what makes these such loved songs and interprets them in his own way without deviating too far from how they were originally arranged. I think every superlative has been used for front-man Danny Vaughn. He engages naturally and sings effortlessly. His voice and presence is as good now as it was when the band first came to prominence and it is clear he still has a passion, hunger and love for what he does.

The 'Don't Come Easy' material such as 'Wings', 'Burning Down Inside' and 'Lay Your Body Down' will always have a place in a Tyketto show but the likes of 'Reach', 'Big Money' and 'I Need It Now' may be hard to displace. 'Strength In Numbers' is represented by 'Rescue Me', 'Meet Me In The Night' and 'Catch My Fall' and 'Faithless', from the 'Dig In Deep' CD was another well-chosen number. Hairs on the back of the neck were all present and correct during a spell-binding version of 'Standing Alone', a timeless song that is both inspirational and heartfelt. There will always be only one way to finish the set and I guess as long as I keep hearing it I will always feel 'Forever Young'.

I was fortunate enough to watch the whole show from the photo pit, mainly because once in there it was impossible to get out, but I'm sure my impressions and thoughts would have been the same wherever my location. As long as Tyketto keep touring I'll keep going. Fantastic.

Dave Bott

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 3 days, 4 hours ago
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us