Steve Rothery Band / The Dave Foster Band Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 31, 2017    
0.0 (0)
2880   0   1   0   0   0

Steve Rothery Band / The Dave Foster Band - Band On The Wall, Manchester (UK) - 12 January 2017

"I've played bigger but not better." The Marillion love affair with Manchester even extends to the warmth of the reception that the Steve Rothery-fronted band get whenever they set foot in a Manchester venue. While the Marillos have made Manchester Academy their home, Rothery is equally at home in the more intimate confines of the Band On The Wall.

Handy too when your band also forms the support act. There's an acknowledged mutual appreciation between SRB guitarist Dave Foster and his boss – Foster's Mr So & So supporting Marillion back in the mid-nineties beginning an ongoing admiration which has existed ever since. His own 'Dreamless' album was recently cited as the Rothery album of the year in a well-known Progressive Rock magazine – what he called an album "of great power and beauty by one of the most talented musicians I know."

The band name seems to have been evolving day by day on the tour, taking the tag of DF Deluxe for the night. When they play 'Black Sunrise' and 'Ache', vocalist Dinet Poortman is joined by SRB singer Martin Jakubski and the man himself. With the whole tour party on stage, you can see what the fuss is about.

The main act arrives with the 'Ghost And Garden Parties' tag, reflecting a two part show. The first half focuses on Rothery's well established 'Ghosts Of Pripyat' solo album. An instrumental set which could prove potentially challenging, yet the material has a habit of creeping up, structured to build slowly to intense crescendos and climaxes. The opening 'Morpheus' being a classic example and 'Summer's End's faintly low key and pastoral beginning evolving into a huge wall of sound of set closing proportions. 'White Pass' is a standout though, the Rothery/Foster interplay at its finest. Together, as in the blinding fret-burning trade-offs in 'The Old Man Of The Sea', they make up the Prog Rock equivalent of the twin guitar attack of Thin Lizzy and Wishbone Ash.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The Rocktopia website uses cookies to improve our website and your experience when using it. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Policy.

I accept cookies from this site

The second half of the show revolves around a deep dip into the vast Marillion catalogue, delighting in going as far back as 'Three Boats Down From The Candy' – the B-side of their debut single. Some might argue that there's an element of indulgence in Rothers getting to choose what he calls songs he loves but doesn't get to play enough and also let loose with some of his favourite solos, but there's no argument from the crowd. It just so happens that it's a Marillion fan's dream. A win-win situation that's heartening to see him celebrating rather than being in denial of the back catalogue. Sometimes the material from the early days might be viewed as a bit of a timepiece, yet it's hard to argue that 'Incubus', 'Sugar Mice' and a surprise 'White Russian' are Marillion songs of immense stature with the added bonus that the latter was a version they would be proud of.

A trip down Memory Lane totally justified by the fervour with which the crowd belt out, amongst others, "this world is totally fugazi!" – the lines "where are the poets, where are the visionaries?" never more apt. With keyboard player Riccardo Romano living every word and note, singer Martin Jakubski steps up to do a more than passable job on delivering the occasionally wordy lyrics with some style, retaining the passion minus the often histrionic delivery from the early eighties Fish days. There's also the chance, in a venue with its floor space surrounded by a three-sided gallery, to utter the famous "the balcony!" call during the 'Market Square Heroes' romp (check out the 'Reel To Real' album – fans will appreciate the detail). A gig which goes a long way to demonstrating why Marillion diehards hold Steve Rothery in such reverence.

Mike Ainscoe

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  May 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
   1  2  3  4  5  6
  7  8  910111213

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks ago
  • Rocktopia Te : We prouldy present the new music video by American Tears! Check out our News Section ... «link»
  • Berny : Interviews with SLEEPING ROMANCE & VISIONS OF ATLANTIS ... «link» Enloy! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 6000 album reviews on Rocktopia!
  • Berny : Saxon, Gizmodrome, Skid Row, Night Ranger, Magnum, Joe Bonamassa & many more! Check out the latest LIVE reviews on Rocktopia! «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


The Rocktopia website uses cookies to improve our website and your experience when using it. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Policy.

I accept cookies from this site