CD Reviews

Gong - 'Rejoice! I'm Dead!' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     February 09, 2017    
0.0 (0)
924   0   1   0   0   0







Gong remain a vibrant, classy, badly behaved bunch; this album is testament to that.

Algorithms are used by search engines to provide those recommendations we often get that'll give us more of the same. That's okay if we want similar stuff to what we've had before, but not so good if we want to expand our horizons and find new favourites.

Gong are not an institution, they're too sparky for that. Since 1967 they've been producing regularly stirring Space Rock with touches of Psyche, but with a sense of the fantastic that makes them more than that – they might be considered Hawkwind's trickier cousin. They've been an ever present for so many years... until now. Things have happened with Gong, things have changed, sad things. Mainsprings Daevid Allen and Gilli Smith have departed, not the band, this life! It could have led to a hiatus or even a split.

This album is called 'Rejoice, I'm Dead!' It's hard not to see it as a tweak of the nose of The Grim Reaper, particularly when the music inside is so assured, so enjoyable, so Gong. They've been adding horns for some time and this is redolent of their unsettling, jabbing, brass, drinking things along and tickling your ribs... of course, that's where a lot of Knifeworld's wonderful sound comes from!

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

'Rejoice!' does this, perhaps just noodling in the middle too long, but always good with a threatening mood, while 'Kaptial' could even be said to have a nasty groove, with the unbridled horns a bit worrying. However, 'Model Village' shows another side, pleasantly twinkly with summery Folk and a wonderful Russian-inflected clarinet. They can, of course, become a little too self-absorbed; 'Visions' is four minutes plus of approaching atmos and 'Through Restless Seas I Come' wastes the first part on self-regard, then finds a brilliantly Funky, seating groove that makes you wish they could had found it earlier.

But this is generally a triumph. Gong have always had a disarming warmth, an effortless style, very apparent in the 'The Unspeakable Stands Revealed', chirping brass, sleazy verse, open, airy moments, guitar jousting with clarinet, building the threat until we can take it no longer.

Gong remain a vibrant, classy, badly behaved bunch; this album is testament to that. Drink it in, a band who refuse to go away because they've still got so much to do, a band who can delight with a loving touch, who defy death because they still sound so alive. Rejoice indeed.

Steve Swift

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 1 day ago
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us