The Neal Morse Band - 'Alive Again' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     February 13, 2017    
0.0 (0)
646   0   1   0   0   0





The band are superbly tight, on form and really enjoying themselves.

One thing you can be sure of is after a tour involving any of Neal Morse's ventures (solo, Transatlantic, Flying Colors ...) there'll be an extensive DVD and CD package commemorating the fact. Back in Issue #69 I reviewed this tour's London show in glowing terms, therefore reliving it via this recording made in the Netherlands is extremely gratifying, one blemish aside.

At each show Morse played an acoustic solo spot, a different song every night, unfortunately the track served up here ('There is Nothing That God Can't Change') is just too cloying, sentimental and overtly religious for my taste. In London we got Transatlantic's wonderful 'Shine', I'd much prefer that song to have been included. However, that is a small blip as the rest of the show is superb with the sheer quality of the music and musicianship shining through. All the players are excellent, as you'd expect, but I have to mention guitarist Eric Gillette who is a superstar and to my mind gives John Petrucci (Dream Theater) a run for his money when it comes to versatility, feel and the ability to construct sublime solos that don't resort to shredding. He does just a bit of this during his short solo spot that prefaces 'In The Fire'. He's also no slouch as a singer either.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

'The Call' is a sensational opening, from its A Cappella start through melodies and hooks large enough to snare a whale and an utterly addictive chorus – it hits the mark. 'Leviathan' and 'The Grand Experiment' keep things rattling along in fine style before the pace is taken down a notch for the splendid 'Harm's Way', a welcome airing for the Spock's Beard classic.

'Waterfall' is an exquisite acoustic number where the vocal prowess of the band is to the fore, it's a goose-bumps moment. Gillette shines here as he takes the lead vocal at certain points. 'In The Fire' features solos from pretty much everyone and really Rocks. The epic 'Alive Again', all thirty-three minutes of it, then takes you on an incredible journey not least as the players swap instruments. The encore is a medley of some of Morse's religious material but is none the worse for that.

The word that comes to mind as I listen to this recording is "joyous", the band are superbly tight, on form and really enjoying themselves.

Gary Marshall

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  October 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  2  3  4  5  6  7  8

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 5 days, 14 hours ago
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our Revíews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!
  • rocktopiarob : Hi in the Bad For Good review - please replace "Rundgren's absurdly genius guitar playing" with "Davey Johnstone's absurdly genius guitar playing"
  • LeChef : Thumbs up!!!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us