CD Reviews

Gov't Mule - 'The Tel-Star Sessions' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     February 17, 2017    
0.0 (0)
721   0   1   0   0   0




If you like classic American Rock with a sturdy Blues grounding, few bands do it better.

The Mule's journey has taken them down very different musical paths since their inception in the early nineties, from their Southern Blues Rock origins to Jazz, star studded collaborations, Reggae and even an album of Pink Floyd covers! This release of the original demos from 1994 takes you back to their root sound. Originally a threesome in the great power trio tradition, until the untimely death of their bass player Allen Woody, the band's brand of Classic Rock flew in the face of fashion – class, of course, outlives trends.

Their essence is captured here. The sound is excellent for a demo, but it retains a rawness that suits their music. The three cover songs here perfectly demonstrate what their influences are. There's the British Hard Rock sound of the seventies on Free's 'Mr Big', the stinging Blues take on Muddy Waters 'The Same Way' and the Southern fried grit of ZZ Top's 'Just Got Paid'. The covers don't stray too far from the originals, but GM have the character to add a few colourful inflections to these songs.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Elsewhere, 'World Of Difference' and 'Left Coast Groovers' show off the band's jam credentials. On 'Rocking Horse', the line "This Rock 'n' Roll life will be the death of me" is perhaps sadly prophetic in light of Woody's passing. Warren Haynes is a modern guitar legend, capable of playing anything, imbuing each note with sweat, and he possesses a marvellous world weary Rock voice that can, at turns, convey toughness or vulnerability. After Allen's death, the band's ranks swelled, allowing them to diversify their sound and move forward, but a part of the chemistry they had as that original trio would always be lost.

Six of the tracks here appeared on their debut release whilst 'Blind Man In The Dark' appears on their second album 'Dose', which might suggest this disc is for completists only, but if you like classic American Rock with a sturdy Blues grounding, few bands do it better and there's also an electricity here that's worth hearing. Gov't Mule are no donkeys!

Duncan Jamieson

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  November 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week ago
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our Revíews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!
  • rocktopiarob : Hi in the Bad For Good review - please replace "Rundgren's absurdly genius guitar playing" with "Davey Johnstone's absurdly genius guitar playing"

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us