CD Reviews

White Widdow - 'Silhouette' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     February 17, 2017    
0.0 (0)
921   0   1   0   0   0





Massively eighties-influenced Hi-Tech AOR with huge melodies and impressive vocal harmonies, with absolutely no acknowledgment that Grunge ever existed.

You know exactly what you're going to get from a White Widdow album. Massively eighties-influenced Hi-Tech AOR with huge melodies and impressive vocal harmonies, with absolutely no acknowledgment that Grunge ever existed; it's almost as if the Millis brothers were cryogenically frozen in 1989 and not released for fifteen years. Thankfully 'Silhouette' continues that trend with the Australian quintet's fourth album in an impressively consistent six-year period.

Their third album 'Crossfire' displayed a somewhat tougher and moodier edge while retaining their uncanny sense of melody, but 'Silhouette' sees a return to the lighter and summery sound of the 'Serenade' opus – the classy cover a hint of what's to come – yet the album contains some of WW's liveliest compositions to date in the superb 'Waited' and 'Smile For The Camera'. The keyboards of Xavier Millis appear more prevalent in the mix this time around, though not to the detriment of the amazing guitar work of the vastly under-rated Enzo Almanzi, Australia's answer to Neal Schon. The perfect production merely adds to the enjoyment.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

However, the true representation of the WW sound comes with the awesome, ultra-precise, occasionally slightly pompous (but in a good way) vocal harmonies (courtesy of Xavier and bassist Ben Webster) that underpin Jules Millis' soaring lead vocals, bringing to mind the likes of Survivor, Night Ranger, White Sister and even Def Leppard at times. The Leps are also a reference point for the ballads on 'Silhouette' as both 'Last Chance For Love' and 'Damage Is Done' are delightful 'Hysteria'-ish mid-tempo numbers.

Elsewhere, opener 'Stranded', first single 'Surrender My Heart', 'Wild At Heart', 'Game Of Love' and 'Sleeping With The Enemy' are the stylish, melodious anthems that White Widdow excel at, they are one of those bands that just have a knack of completely capturing that late eighties ambience perfectly.

If this album had been released back in June it would have been the soundtrack to the summer, without a doubt. Of course, for these guys, it is released in the summer; maybe I should emigrate...

Ant Heeks

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 2 days ago
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us