Michael Schenker Group - 'MSG' (landmark album review) http://www.rocktopia.co.uk/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x200s/32/ab/b8/Michael-Schenker-Group-MSG-67-1492717437.jpg Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     April 20, 2017    
0.0 (0)
885   0   1   0   0   0





Michael Schenker took over from Ritchie Blackmore as my guitar hero not long after 'MSG' was released and he still is and always will be.

This is a Rocktopia™ landmark review (album review no. 4988, pls. click HERE for more information)

1981 was a pivotal year for me – I discovered Rock music in a biiiigggggg way! Rainbow, Def Leppard, Van Halen, Iron Maiden, Whitesnake and many more great bands. I used to religiously listen to the Radio One album chart every Thursday evening as I would get to hear a track from a new album and this aided my discovery of new music.

I can picture the particular evening when I first heard Michael Schenker's guitar playing – it was a lovely mid-September's evening and his second album under the MSG moniker debuted at #14. As soon as I heard the opening bars of 'Ready To Rock' I was hooked! I started buying 'Kerrang!' from issue one – for several years it was an enjoyable and interesting read. Issue #4 had an article about Schenker and his days in UFO and Scorpions, it was a good insight, however, didn't mean much to me as I hadn't heard anything by either of those bands at the time. There was a debate in the magazine as to whether the German was a better guitarist than Paul Chapman who replaced him in UFO. It didn't take me long to find out who I preferred (no disrespect Tonka)!

So back to 'Ready To Rock', a powerful, straight-ahead Rocker and the opening track on the album, one featuring a cracking solo by the blonde bomber. I rushed down to my local HMV in Manchester the very next day and bought the cassette version of the album (it was another thirteen months before I was to get my first proper stereo system). 'Attack Of The Mad Axeman' a play on words in reference to Schenker, I later found out, is another fine tune. Ex-Rainbow skinsman Cozy Powell beats the crap out of his drums and Schenker lays down a blistering solo. Two tracks in and I couldn't believe what I was hearing... I was in heaven.

'On And On' opens slowly with some nice keyboards from Paul Raymond who, as I quickly learned, had worked with Schenker in UFO. It doesn't take long for the song to get going. Vocalist Gary Barden has a decent voice, not the most powerful, but thirty-six years later I can't imagine anybody else singing these songs. Schenker adds two more solos which are to die for. Bassist Chris Glen (ex-Sensational Alex Harvey Band) lays down the intro for 'Let Sleeping Dogs Lie' a mid-paced Rocker co-written by all five band members and Schenker riffs away and treats us to another sublime solo (or two).

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

'I Want More' again has a Raymond keyboard intro and Schenker gently plays over it, before the band kick in and Schenker treats us to some fine licks and another superb solo. Powell's drumming is so powerful and the solo that ends the song is phenomenal. The Raymond-penned 'Never Trust A Stranger' is the slower number on the album – the ballad, so to speak. Raymond's piano playing and Glen's bass are prominent in parts and again Schenker shows us how emotional his solos can be.

'Looking For Love' is a full in-your-face Rock tune and is often criminally overlooked, which is mystifying as it contains two of the most consummate solos that Schenker has ever recorded – air guitar heaven! 'Secondary Motion' brings the album to a premature close and again starts off slowly before a meaty Schenker riff kick-starts the song. The mad axeman adds licks all over the show and the main solo makes the hairs on the back of my neck stand up even to this day! Clocking in at just under thirty-seven minutes, I can't believe how quickly the album ends and I rarely only play it once, quite often it is on repeat.

Michael Schenker took over from Ritchie Blackmore as my guitar hero not long after 'MSG' was released and he still is and always will be. A lot of Schenker aficionados will cite his 1980 MSG debut as his strongest (I bought it the following week) and yes, it is a fine album, as are the five UFO albums that he recorded in the seventies, however, nothing gets close to the affinity that I have for the 'MSG' album. It holds special memories for me and I still own "that" cassette, as well as the LP with the embossed cover and several different versions of the CD – obsessed, who me?!

Az Chaudhry

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 day, 14 hours ago
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us