Fireworks

Dan Patlansky http://www.rocktopia.co.uk/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x200s/2b/57/48/Screen-Shot-2017-05-12-at-212041-83-1494622071.png Hot

Added by James Gaden     May 12, 2017    
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
4484   0   1   0   0   0

Dan Patlansky - O2 Islington Academy 2, London (UK) - 02 May 2017

It was only upon the release of his last two magnificent studio albums, 2014's 'Dear Silence Thieves' and 2016's 'IntroVertigo', that Dan Patlansky started making a name for himself outside of his native country. Hailing from the captivating lands of South Africa, the equally captivating award-winning singer/guitarist/song-writer has visited the UK several times in the last few years, including solo tours and support tours with highly respected acts such as King King and Joe Satriani. Hence it was time to return to keep pleasing his growing fan-base.

His traditional formula of executing his heartfelt music, juggling dynamics to perfection, means he can easily transcend from a pianissimo that silences the venue with awe (and even turn the volume completely off) to a vibrant fortissimo in a matter of seconds. Unlike his previous visits, on this occasion he opted for hiring European musicians to accompany him, and as the humble person he is, he allowed the Germans Felix Dehmel on drums, Jonathan Murphy on bass and Tom Gatza on keyboards to share the limelight on their instruments giving them solo spots.


Screen Shot 2017-05-12 at 21.20.41


Opening up with the instrumental 'Drone', Patlansky shows he is in total control of his guitar, and from the next song – 'Sonnova Faith' − onwards lets us hear his raspy and enchanting vocal abilities, focusing on the two albums above showcasing the Rockers 'Stop The Messin' and 'Backbite' to the moving 'Bet On Me'. Extended versions of some of them demonstrate that, as the true artist he is, he plays for the moment and lets himself drift into the ultimate guitar experience.

Although I truly missed the breath-taking 'Madison Lane' from '...Thieves' in the set-list, he replaces it with the equally moving 'Still Wanna Be Your Man' from his latest release, and keeps the older 'Bring The World To Its Knees' and 'Daddy's Old Gun' on the evening's repertoire. The encores come in the shape of 'Loosen Up' and 'Fetch Your Spade', and the South African star abandons the stage to huge acclaim. Yet the imminent question was why was such a small (making it packed and hot) venue booked in the first instance. The good news is that, if all goes to plan, he will return in October in a support capacity for another major act to perform in the larger stages where he belongs. Keep an eye out for dates and a new album, for Dan Patlansky is sure to stay in your music collection for a long time.

Mónica Castedo-López
Photo Credit: Allan Jones

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

 


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


busy

Member Login



Calendar

<<  September 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
   1  2  3  4  5  6
  7  8  910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 day, 19 hours ago
  • Berny : @Hysteria & @KI2000: Many thanks for your kind words! :)
  • Hysteria : Received my download copy almost immediately and downloaded 50 magazines for free. Cannot complain! Thanks guys!!!
  • KI2000 : Love the new issue guys, great magazine!
  • Berny : @Mugi89: Your confirmation mail was sent on the 22nd, I've just sent it again. Please contact me at «email» should you not receive it. Many thanks!
  • Mugi89 : Hi! I purchased my digital copy of issue 92 2 days ago but still didn't receive it. When am I gonna be able to download it? thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Your mail was forwarded to the Fireworks team yesterday, I am going to ask them again. Sorry for the delay!
  • Berny : @Mitch Perry: Your order was received at 4AM local time. As stated on the order page, all payments have to be processed manually. Your copy of Fireworks 92 was added to your download section, many thanks for the purchase.
  • Berny : @RobC68: I sent you two emails explaining the situation. There's not much more I can do for you at the moment, so I'd suggest you stop buying the magazine. Thanks.
  • zom414 : Still not received the latest issue by post, I've emailed as well but not heard anything. Can you let me know what's happening please?
  • Mitch Perry : Can I have my download link, please? Issue 92 22 Sep 2020 07:57:11 BST Paypal Transaction ID: 1BS38875MX3700248
  • RobC68 : purchased issue 92 in download version. been waiting more than a day....PATHETIC SERVICE as it happens with every purchase!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Berny : @rgilman: Please check your e - mail for download instructions.
  • rgilman : Hello I bought the Deep Purple issue how do I download it? Thanks
  • Berny : @jharper36: Please check your e - mail.
  • jharper36 : Hi, i purchased the download of issue #92. How do I download it?
  • Berny : @loudjlopez: Sorry for the troubles, pls. check your mail. Many thanks!
  • loudjlopez@m : Any word on my digital download of issue 91. Paid on Saturday. It is Tuesday. Thanks
  • loudjlopez@m : Paid for Fireworks #91 for digital download. No word since Saturday and it is Monday.
  • Berny : @fdr: Magazines were sent on Monday. Thanks for your purchase and best regards, B. :)
  • fdr : Hi, yesterday (august 12th) I sent you a payment for 21GBP for the purchase of issues 91 and 82 of Fireworks magazine. (code 7D3182072X778721A) but still haven't received a word od confirmation. Can you please check?
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us

FacebookTwitterYoutubeGoogle

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site