CD Reviews

Gus Monsanto - 'Karma Café' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     May 28, 2017    
0.0 (0)
1467   0   1   0   0   0





Certainly not an instantaneous album, however, fans of well-produced Melodic Rock/AOR should really check it out.

Gus Monsanto is a Brazilian singer who has sang on many albums and has an impressive résumé including providing lead vocals on albums by Code Of Silence, Adagio, Revolution Renaissance, Takara and Human Fortress. With the latter bands in mind, it will come as quite a surprise that Monsanto's first solo release, 'Karma Café', is a collection of Melodic Rock and AOR songs and not Hard Rock or Metal tunes.

For 'Karma Café' Monsanto decided to record the album in his own home studio. He utilised the talents of several multi-talented musician friends, including guitarists Rogério "Percy" Lucas and Wiliam Belle, bassist (and younger brother) Jayme Monsanto and keyboardist and multi-instrumentalist Bruno Sá. To quote the man himself, "No pressure, no record label, no rules, no deadlines. Music for the joy of making music, in your time". The fourteen tracks on offer were written over many years, however it would be difficult to distinguish between the differing time periods in which they originated.

The title track kicks off the album and ticks all the right boxes; well written, catchy, well-played and superbly produced by Monsanto himself, along with Celo Oliveira, while 'No Candle Left In The Box' continues the album's upbeat start. 'Elephant In The Room' introduces some orchestration and, together with some stellar guitar playing, is a real highlight. Contrary to its title, 'Fire And Dynamite' is a mid-tempo Blues-drenched tune filled with emotion. 'Time' is a highly infectious AOR/Pop song whereas 'A Girl I Know' tips its hat to old-style Rock 'n' Roll, albeit with a Modern twist. 'Shooting Star' has a definite Brett Walker vibe which naturally makes it another winner in my book – the song is a real AOR gem.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The Beatles influence can be clearly heard on the acoustic-based 'Fel'. 'Forbidden', on the other hand, goes completely leftfield and is the heaviest track on the album, even sounding (purposefully) out of tune on the chorus. 'Why?' and 'After The Storm' returns to the AOR style of much of the album and then the pace picks up slightly for closers 'Change The World' and 'Nothing Is Impossible'.

'Karma Café' is certainly not an instantaneous album, however, fans of well-produced Melodic Rock/AOR should really check it out. That said, fans of Gus Monsanto's other bands should approach with caution, but if they are open-minded and like the lighter side of Rock, they will also be well rewarded.

Mark Donnelly

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks ago
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us