CD Reviews

Grumpynators - 'City Of Sin' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     June 09, 2017    
0.0 (0)
506   0   1   0   0   0




A damn good album and definitely a step up from the 2015 debut.

The sophomore album from these Danish Rockers is, at first listen, far better than their name suggests. After all, it's not the best name in the world to pick, is it? Mixed and mastered by Jacob Hansen (Volbeat, Pretty Maids) it's actually a little hard to pigeonhole this release into a genre, so I really do have to say it fits nicely between Hard Rock and Metal. Vocally, at times, it is reminiscent of Volbeat, albeit slightly softer, and there are some great melodic moments to counterbalance the heavier aggressive ones.

The opener, 'Tears Of Whiskey', and the next two tracks ('Hotel 2nd Age' and 'Take The Last Dance With Me') set the pace. Good driving guitar work and pacey drums, which are not short of speed, make you expect some growling vocals, but Emil Oeland's voice is quite mellow over the top. They do have Rob Caggiano (Volbeat) as a guest guitarist on 'Far Away', a song where he is playing solos, fills and themes, and this results in a much more frenetic dose, with some blistering fret-work to boot!

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This track almost makes the album worth buying in its own right. The album does have weak spots; for example, 'St. Elvis Day' is mediocre to say the least, sounding way below the standard set by the previous songs. Thankfully the title track follows this and brings the standard back up again.

If you like your Rock Danish and are into bands who sit on the heavier end, without being Thrash Metal, then 'City Of Sin' could be up your strasse (or gade, just to be Danish). It's a damn good album and it's definitely a step up from the 2015 debut. Worth a punt? Without a doubt!

Steve Price

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 1 day ago
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us