Greywind - 'Afterthoughts' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     June 18, 2017    
0.0 (0)
516   0   1   0   0   0




There is much to admire here and there is certainly potential to develop.

Paul (guitars) and Steph (vocals) O'Sullivan are the creative forces at the heart of Greywind, a young Irish band from the popular tourist destination of Killarney. 'Afterthoughts' is their debut release, and though they have little studio experience, this album shows great maturity and should be the platform for greater things. The opus was developed with producer Jason Perry during a three week stay at Texas's Sonic Ranch Studios and was the chance to hear ideas, written almost entirely on acoustic guitar, evolve into something with far more substance.

An air of melancholy surrounds much of the material, and an ethereal vibe permeates even the most powerful of the musical passages. The bio states that the duo are inspired by the likes of Thrice and Jimmy Eats World, but musically they are less frantic and more thoughtful. Steph O'Sullivan's delivery brings Hayley Williams (Paramore) to mind, even if the songs don't fall into the same Pop-infused category. She can wail with the best of them when required, without becoming harsh, and her performance is the highlight of 'Afterthoughts' for me. If I have a criticism, it's that every song has a similar structure and tempo.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

There is an edgy undercurrent that mirrors the singing, but the impact is lessened due to the lack of variety. That's not to say I do not like the album, it's just that taken individually the songs have a lot to offer, but as a whole they seem to blend into one. The opening title track sets the scene and is a good indication of everything that is to follow. There are no real stand-out songs (although I seem to be coming back to the heartfelt 'Stitch On My Wings' on a regular basis after four or five plays), yet there is nothing to offend either.

A mixed review I know, but as a starting point there is much to admire here and there is certainly potential to develop. They have played at Reading and Leeds already and have been added to the Download bill for 2017, so there will be an opportunity to raise their profile considerably. If you're a fan of Paramore, the last Flyleaf album or Marion Raven's 'Set Me Free' from a few years back, then 'Afterthoughts' is certainly worth investigating.

Dave Bott

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  December 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
      1  2  3
  4  5  6  7  8  910

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 4 days ago
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our RevĂ­ews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us