Procol Harum - 'Novum' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     June 19, 2017    
0.0 (0)
294   0   1   0   0   0








This is good to be with and occasionally brilliant, probably what we might expect from such a disparate group.

It may be difficult to clear your mind of turning cartwheels and skipping the light fandango, but Procol Harum have produced thirteen albums over their fifty years of existence (with breaks, of course). Over that time, they've produced some intricate, beautiful and, latterly, downright commercial music that has followed the vagaries of the times.

To celebrate their 50th Anniversary (is it gold, that one?), they have produced their first album in aeons (they've been touring for years though) based around the honeyed and seasoned Gary Brooker but with the songs written by the whole band and lyrics mainly by the Cream (and others) pen-man Pete Brown. They say there's even elements of humour; yes, there are...

On occasion this album can sound like Chas & Dave. Maybe I should pause for a moment? When that is stated, it's a reference to the good time, laughing feel that the aforementioned act has, but sometimes they have a bit of an ordinary, pile 'em high, sell 'em cheap feel. Nothing wrong with that, but this is PH.

The opener is a stunner. 'I Told On You' starts with a single insistent Toto piano note, picking up a Bend Sinister feel and wheeling in an electric Joanna to shake hands with Steely Dan; a brilliant surprise. 'Image Of The Beast' carries on and is organ-soaked Blues and a Bar-room piano tickling Donald Fagen (SD). However, occasionally, they become pedestrian. 'Soldier' is a best forgotten, mawkish Reggae attempt, 'Last Chance Motel' grown up Country Rock, while 'Don't Get Caught' is safe with strings.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

At their best, these stories have a Kinks feel and Brooker has just the world weary voice to sell it beautifully. 'Can't Say That' is a seemingly anti manager rant akin to Queen's 'Death On Two Legs' and 'Businessman' has a laidback feel which backs the piquant lyrics.

It's all good to hear and a new Procol Harum album must be an event; the humour throughout this album might occasionally jar, but it does create an enjoyable atmosphere, never more apparent than the knees up of 'Neighbour', complete with a chuckle at the end. They play up a storm, so assured they can nail an essential groove at thirty paces.

This is good to be with and occasionally brilliant, probably what we might expect from such a disparate group. Cancel that cake, this party requires healthy lashings of pie and mash.

Steve Swift

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  August 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
   1  2  3  4  5  6
  7  8  910111213

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 5 hours, 33 minutes ago
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our Revíews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!
  • rocktopiarob : Hi in the Bad For Good review - please replace "Rundgren's absurdly genius guitar playing" with "Davey Johnstone's absurdly genius guitar playing"
  • LeChef : Thumbs up!!!
  • Central Elec : Five new live reviews!
  • Hysteria : Wow! GREAT Abums! What a fantastic read!!! Kudos to you guys for including an album review by "The Hoff". KITT will love it!!! : - )
  • Central Elec : Landmark reviews 4991 - 5000 are online
  • Berny : Landmark reviews 4981 - 4990 are online, have fun! :)
  • Central Elec : Landmark Album Reviews 4971 - 4980 are online.
  • Berny : Check out our EXCLUSIVE interview with André Andersen of ROYAL HUNT!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us