Supernova Plasmajets - 'Supernova Plasmajets'

Added by Central Electronic Brain     June 19, 2017    
0.0 (0)
133   0   1   0   0   0



They've clearly read, learned, marked and inwardly digested the winning formula.

A band name that sums up the feeling that the tongue may be planted firmly in cheek and that there's going to be a strong element of fun and derring-do in the AORHeaven released Supernova Plasmajets debut album.

The cover image might portray the band as stereotypical wannabe, Sleaze Rocking, attitude pumping Rock stars, yet it also emphasizes their eighties Glam Rock influences which comes with their own late nineties Rock vibe encased in a Melodic Hard Rock coating. Promising "a slice of yesterday and a hint of tomorrow", their "energy of a new generation" comes courtesy of a solid wall of sound packed with melodies and hooks, topped off with plasma siren Jennifer Crush's overwrought vocal style, of which overexposure might test the patience.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Musically, their sound is based around the twin guitar onslaught from the imaginatively named duo of Manni McFly and Randy Stardust, immediately making an impact with the slow building 'Leave Forever', keyboard washes to the fore before the curtain raising riff and wailing lead. There's almost a sense that you're going to hear about Tommy working on the docks... The mid-paced opening soon shifts into the Punky Thrash pace of what may be their theme tune 'Supernova Team' before the piano gets rolled out and the guitars briefly get put to one side. There's a big ballad coming in 'Hold You Close' but hold on for the big solo... the boxes are starting to get ticked off in a bizarre version of AOR bingo.

They've clearly read, learned, marked and inwardly digested the winning formula. And so it goes – sprightly, shock Rock and Roll with a pinch of punchy impudence – brash and sassy is what they do best – goes side by side with the more Poppy side on 'Feel You Fear' and a dart into some Euro Rock aspects with 'Nothing's Gonna Stop Me Now'. It's all cordial though, enough not to scare anyone away and adds some variety to another album in a field which can be seen as a full to bursting battery farm. Sometimes the AOR model makes it hard to tell one from another. The Supernova Plasmajets at least are having a stab at flying their flag above the crowd.

Mike Ainscoe

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  June 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 14 hours, 9 minutes ago
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!
  • rocktopiarob : Hi in the Bad For Good review - please replace "Rundgren's absurdly genius guitar playing" with "Davey Johnstone's absurdly genius guitar playing"
  • LeChef : Thumbs up!!!
  • Central Elec : Five new live reviews!
  • Hysteria : Wow! GREAT Abums! What a fantastic read!!! Kudos to you guys for including an album review by "The Hoff". KITT will love it!!! : - )
  • Central Elec : Landmark reviews 4991 - 5000 are online
  • Berny : Landmark reviews 4981 - 4990 are online, have fun! :)
  • Central Elec : Landmark Album Reviews 4971 - 4980 are online.
  • Berny : Check out our EXCLUSIVE interview with André Andersen of ROYAL HUNT!
  • Berny : More information can be found here: «link»
  • Berny : @moorby_vj_li: Many thanks for your purchase. If you bought a physical copy of the magazine, you can download the bonus disc from the menu on top (Fireworks - > Bonus CD 77).
  • moorby_vj_li : Hi All, I have purchased Issue 77 but can not see a link to download the music, where would I go, thank you in advance
  • Berny : GRAVE DIGGER exclusive UK video premiere of 'Lawbreaker'! Check out the news!
  • Berny : The new Fireworks section is now live! In the TOP MENU bar, please navigate to "Fireworks" - > "Fireworks Online" to read interviews with Eclipse, Tokyo Motor Fist, House Of Lords, Art Of Anarchy, Battle Beast & Monster Truck.
  • Berny : Many thanks Casper! :)
  • Casper : Thanks Berny ordered
  • Berny : @Casper @all: Fireworks Magazine #78 news item is now online, bonus interviews will follow this weekend. We have some interesting stuff coming in the next couple of days, including an album reviews special.
  • Casper : Berny
  • Casper : sorry Berny
  • Casper : Sorry Berny
  • Casper : Thanks Benny
  • Berny : @Casper: Fireworks 78 is already avaiable from the Mini % Donwload Stores on Rocktopia. The full press release as well as the updated FW section will be posted tomorrow. Thanks for your patience!
  • Casper : Fireworks 78 any news
  • Berny : @EDUARDVH: Thank you! :)

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us