Concert Reviews

Roger Hodgson (2017) Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     June 30, 2017    
0.0 (0)
513   0   1   0   0   0

Roger Hodgson - Royal Albert Hall, London (UK) - 20 May 2017

Roger Hodgson has reached a point in his solo career whereupon he can play the same size venues he once did with his former band. His distinctive voice and piano style gave his former band their greatest commercial success, and despite sharing vocals with Rick Davies, he was always the voice of Supertramp. The prestigious Royal Albert Hall in London was to host Roger's musical outing for two nights, and a packed capacity audience of all ages awaited this legend.

Opening with the haunting harmonica of 'Take The Long Way Home', Hodgson greets the audience, dressed in white trousers and shoes with a grey waistcoat, his hair long and grey, he takes his place behind his keyboard, smiles and begins to play and sing. This is an artist who still clearly loves his work and has a close connection to his audience, radiating a sense of calm happiness that is contagious. 'School' and 'In Jeopardy', the latter a solo effort, sound beautiful with the Royal Albert Hall acoustics, and his backing band play effortlessly with a keen sense of timing and precision.

Within the first half of the show we hear classics 'Breakfast In America' and 'The Logical Song', which have most of the audience singing along with Hodgson. His voice is still remarkably strong after all these years, especially during the wonderful 'Hide In Your Shell'.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The deep cuts come in the second half of the show, with 'Child Of Vision' and 'Lord Is It Mine', songs that have only been lost to time because of the mammoth hit songs that surrounded them.

'Death And A Zoo', another solo effort, is always a shining gem that's never fails to resonate with animal lovers, with its tragic lyrics of an animal's perspective of entrapment. 'Dreamer' is still Pop perfection, while 'Fools Overture' is a reminder of Supertramp's Prog Rock influences.

Hodgson changes places between keyboard, piano and guitar throughout the show, and 'Give A Little Bit' has everyone on their feet singing and clapping along. When 'It's Raining Again' starts, audience members break out the umbrellas in a mass positive celebration. I hope Roger Hodgson can find time to record new material in-between his hectic touring schedule, as this audience really appreciates the beauty of his music for nearly two hours, leaving with their souls fed.

Ray Paul

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  December 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
      1  2  3
  4  5  6  7  8  910

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 5 days ago
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our RevĂ­ews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us