Bonfire - 'Byte The Bullet' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     July 04, 2017    
0.0 (0)
269   0   1   0   0   0







Against all expectations Bonfire have rediscovered their hunger and recorded an excellent album.

They say it's better to burn out than to fade away, but Bonfire were surely fading fast long before the ill-judged decision to simply rebrand Hans Ziller's EZ Livin' side project when vocalist Claus Lessmann jumped ship in early 2015. Though personally a big fan of singer David Reece (Bangalore Choir), the whole situation just felt wrong, and the subsequent album 'Glorious' did not alter my opinion. Now, 2017 brings another new singer with Alexx Stahl (Roxxcalibur), and against all expectations Bonfire have rediscovered their hunger and recorded an excellent album.

The template seems very much set on their classic 'Fireworks' album, with upbeat, fast Rocking songs such as opener 'Power Train', 'Stand Up 4 Rock' and 'Too Far From Heaven' rubbing shoulders with exquisite ballads 'Lonely Nights' and 'Without You' – where Stahl comes across eerily like a young Lessmann – alongside wonderful Melodic Rock cuts 'Praying 4 A Miracle' and 'Sweet Surrender', although the latter is criminally redolent of Scorpions' 'Make It Real' on its opening line, note for note, and virtually word for word.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Elsewhere, we have a quite brilliant cover of Jethro Tull's 'Locomotive Breath' which the band really make their own, the rather disappointing title track, and 'Reach For The Sky', with its cool chorus in search of a deserving verse, but unfortunately never finding it. Joke track 'Friedensreich', a "fun" conversation caught on the tour bus with Ziller's mobile phone has no place on a professional release, and the instrumental is yet another Teutonic workout of Classical music standards, and I really could have done without yet another version of 'Sweet Obsession' as the bonus track, although I understand the reasoning.

So a few misfires, but it's really exciting having Bonfire back recording albums of this quality, and the next one could really be a killer!

Bruce Mee

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  July 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 3 days, 8 hours ago
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our Revíews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!
  • rocktopiarob : Hi in the Bad For Good review - please replace "Rundgren's absurdly genius guitar playing" with "Davey Johnstone's absurdly genius guitar playing"
  • LeChef : Thumbs up!!!
  • Central Elec : Five new live reviews!
  • Hysteria : Wow! GREAT Abums! What a fantastic read!!! Kudos to you guys for including an album review by "The Hoff". KITT will love it!!! : - )
  • Central Elec : Landmark reviews 4991 - 5000 are online
  • Berny : Landmark reviews 4981 - 4990 are online, have fun! :)
  • Central Elec : Landmark Album Reviews 4971 - 4980 are online.
  • Berny : Check out our EXCLUSIVE interview with André Andersen of ROYAL HUNT!
  • Berny : More information can be found here: «link»
  • Berny : @moorby_vj_li: Many thanks for your purchase. If you bought a physical copy of the magazine, you can download the bonus disc from the menu on top (Fireworks - > Bonus CD 77).
  • moorby_vj_li : Hi All, I have purchased Issue 77 but can not see a link to download the music, where would I go, thank you in advance
  • Berny : GRAVE DIGGER exclusive UK video premiere of 'Lawbreaker'! Check out the news!
  • Berny : The new Fireworks section is now live! In the TOP MENU bar, please navigate to "Fireworks" - > "Fireworks Online" to read interviews with Eclipse, Tokyo Motor Fist, House Of Lords, Art Of Anarchy, Battle Beast & Monster Truck.
  • Berny : Many thanks Casper! :)
  • Casper : Thanks Berny ordered
  • Berny : @Casper @all: Fireworks Magazine #78 news item is now online, bonus interviews will follow this weekend. We have some interesting stuff coming in the next couple of days, including an album reviews special.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us