Aldaria - 'Land Of Light' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     July 29, 2017    
0.0 (0)
507   0   1   0   0   0






Aldaria may well be the underdog with the bigger bite, but the boys with the bark will always win.

Close your eyes; you're back at school, it's football and time to be picked. Are you first or last? Is it as much a game of the politics of popularity as Eurovision? Possibly. One team is always stronger than the other, but the underdog always has a bite bigger than the other's bark. Underrated Norwegian Power-Metal outfit Memorized Dream's guitarist Frode Hovd is the underdog, having compiled an under-the-radar "who's who" of European Power and Symphonic Metal for his Avantasia-aping Rock Opera epic Aldaria.

Spanning across eleven guest-riddled tracks, featuring the likes of Fabio Lione, Rick Altzi, Roland Grapow, Mike LePond and Todd Michael Hall among others, 'Land Of Light' tells the tale of the Guardians Of The Light as they battle to protect the land of Aldaria (the dimension between Heaven & Hell) from being overcome by a haunting darkness. In a paint-by-numbers amalgamation of Power Metal, Symphonic Metal and Rock Opera, Hovd's debut dive into the land of Aldaria is the underdog of its genre, with a bite bigger than another's bark.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

From the harrowing opening bells of 'Exitare Ad Lucem' to true opener 'Another Life', the album gives off the sound of Avantasia as if it's true-to-its-form, clone-like, twisting-and-turning tunnels of riveting riffs and soaring solos are nothing but the work of a worshipper of the original. However, follow-up 'Guardians Of The Light' provides the ever-expansive scene-setting the concept requires, in no part thanks to a set of powerful vocal performances from Wardrum's Yannis Papadopoulos and Qantice's David Akesson. This early switch of power is essentially Aldaria's Achilles heel; the potential to be the greatest is there, if only they themselves could let go of their love for the greats.

On the few occasions Aldaria stray away from the formula, they find themselves falling short of the mark, particularly on the piano-laden, lighter-waving 'Sands Of Time', in which one of the album's finest vocal performances is turned in by Sunburst's Vasillis Georgiou and undiscovered diamond-in-the-rough Mina Giannopoulou, only to be subsequently let down by a song struck with sawdust. Whilst the ever-changing revolving door of vocalists works hand-in-hand, the constant changing of musicians never quite allows the album to find its feet sonically, slowing it down and slugging itself across the finish line.

Aldaria may well be the underdog with the bigger bite, but the boys with the bark will always win; that's the way the story is written.

Jack Press

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 5 days ago
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us