Roxin' Palace - 'Freaks Of Society' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     July 30, 2017    
0.0 (0)
468   0   1   0   0   0





I'm left feeling the band are unsure and unclear on both their identity and where they are going.

'Freaks Of Society' is the second offering from this Italian outfit formerly known as Modern Middle Ages but, unfortunately, there's the feeling they are not yet settled in their approach.

'Monsters Love' has a bit of a LA Guns, late eighties Sunset Strip feel about it, crossed with a more European sing-along chorus and Metal sensibility with a classically-inspired guitar solo. 'Gangs Eraser' has a fast-paced verse coupled with a slower, more Stoner style chorus, but with eighties style guitar. 'Thai Of Mine' features lyrics like "Hollywood Queen" tells you where this track is coming from and it's a definite nod to Guns 'N' Roses. 'Postatomic Hotel' is a lighter track with a Poppier chorus while 'L.A. Mist' is also lighter, slightly Punk, slightly Grunge, but with a Slash inspired chorus. It's a much of a strange mix as it sounds.

'Monkey Junkie' returns to the Metal agenda and is a bit Skid Row (late) in parts although the track does slow down for another Slash-inspired solo. 'Rockers Of The Eagle' is probably the album's best track with a catchy chorus and sticking to one eighties Classic Rock agenda. It is certainly more straightforward than some of the other tracks. 'Neighbourhood Stars' has a naïve Punk feel to it save for the guitar which is pure class, if a little anomalous next to the vocals. 'Fading Idol' would not be out of place on a Hanoi Rocks album; a Rock track but one including some Punk sensibilities, except for the Slash-like solo which, again, seems out of place with the rest of the song.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

'Freak?' is part eighties Pop, part Teutonic Metal and part Slash solo, again I'm afraid a bit of a dog's dinner. 'F.A.N.' is more of a Twisted Sister anthemic number, although there are some Punk twinges and some GNR style dialogue GNR mid-track before, yes, you guessed it, the Slash-inspired solo. 'Little Lizzy', the bonus track, suits its guitar more than many of the other tracks on the album and yet appears to be an afterthought.

This album has some nice moments and some great guitar, but ultimately it was somewhat schizophrenic and I'm left feeling the band are unsure and unclear on both their identity and where they are going.

Dawn Osborne

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 5 days ago
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us