Stamina - 'System Of Power' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     July 30, 2017    
0.0 (0)
504   0   1   0   0   0






This is their best album to date though and a step in the right direction.

Proficient, Progressive Metal is what's on offer from this ever-evolving Italian band. Now on their fourth album, this record sees a new singer in Alessandro Granato installed and it's a good move, giving them a fresh push. Granato has a good set of pipes; strong enough to make the songs sound powerful, yet melodic enough to give us some hooks that wouldn't go awry on a Melodic Rock release. Being Italian, there's a kneejerk reaction to want to compare them to other Progressive Metal acts from those shores. They are less eccentric and over the top than many Italian bands, playing it straighter, but they are extremely good technically and the band has a flair that nods to a Classical understanding too. They are also partial to some rather good infectious overblown extended soloing. In many ways, Luca Sellitto's guitar playing is closer to the likes of Yngwie Malmsteem with the big keyboards being akin to Danish Prog Metallers Royal Hunt.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

'Holding On' is a good start and a clear example of what they do well. It's a heavy track with big guitars and whiplash drumming, but Granato delivers a hummable choral hook that hints at Joe Lynn Turner's spell with Malmsteen. They do like to show off their technical prowess, as many do in this genre, and on 'Must Be Blind' the guitars and keyboards go at the duelling with gusto. Fortunately, there's enough variation with arrangements and song content not to make this a mere widdlefest.

The epic 'Undergo (Black Moon Part II)' has a Classic Rock structure that starts slowly on acoustic guitar and flute. It is allowed to build slowly before increasing in intensity and exploding into a Rocker. The twisting time changes and the ability to throw in more unexpected elements like the almost Charleston groove at the beginning of 'Love Was Never Meant To Be' and the Jazzy start to 'Portrait Of Beauty' demonstrate there's some talent here. Whilst some of the hooks sink in like the very melodic 'One In A Million', a lot of the melodies aren't as arresting as the musical showmanship and it's this area they need to work on if they're to challenge the bigger players in the marketplace. This is their best album to date though and a step in the right direction.

Duncan Jamieson

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 5 days ago
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us