Veonity - 'Into The Void' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     July 30, 2017    
0.0 (0)
494   0   1   0   0   0






Fans of early Helloween, Freedom Call and GR take note, Veonity are here to whisk you back to a simpler, more powerful time.

Do you hanker for a time when European Power Metal didn't feel the need to infuse everything with pipes, choirs and orchestras? Well my guess is that Sweden's Veonity do, for those tropes are expertly sidestepped with their second album 'Into The Void'. Harking back to an early Gamma Ray sound and bringing the sense of fun (if not frivolity) that the likes of Gloryhammer or Twilight Force have in recent years, Veonity – a name made up by combining the words vision and eternity (I'm not sure that actually works...) – get their message across with just two guitars, drums, bass and a microphone (okay, and a few keyboards). That doesn't stop their pounding pummel from being grandiose and proud. Actually it accentuates it, huge chanted choruses and darting guitar solos given the room to breathe without being ganged up on by all manner of Classical shenanigans.

Veonity also pretty much avoid the lyrical clichés that have littered Power Metal over the years, this being an involved story centering around one man's escape from a dying Earth and heads out into space on the epic journey of a lifetime. To be fair, it's hardly a unique tale and yet with the music fitting the scene perfectly and impressive album art and videos backing the whole thing up, 'Into The Void' is a well-rounded and realised concept.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Vocalist Anders Sköld is hugely impressive when utilising his low end rumble and mid-range howl, although it would maybe be fair to suggest that his ear piercing screams, of which there aren't that many, may just be an acquired taste. Combined to the scything guitars he and Samuel Lundström lay down, the effect is impressive indeed. Some of the choruses do lack the real power-punch that would elevate this band right to the top end of the genre and yet, with the volume cranked up, 'Solar Storm' takes few prisoners while 'When Humanity Is Gone' is an unashamedly heads-down romp.

In all honesty, apart from the short atmospheric spoken word track 'Insanity', that pretty much covers the Veonity gamut. So while variety may be at a premium, quality most certainly is not. Fans of early Helloween, Freedom Call and GR take note, Veonity are here to whisk you back to a simpler, more powerful time.

Steven Reid

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 5 days ago
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us