CD Reviews

Jupiter Falls - 'Faces In The Sand Part 1' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     August 09, 2017    
0.0 (0)
294   0   1   0   0   0




A seriously good piece of work.

It's been a couple of years since Leeds quartet Jupiter Falls impressed with their début 'Revolution'. A strong album full of Rocking tunes, it marked out a new band worthy of keeping an eye on and I was glad to finally see the follow-up appear in my inbox. Spying a run time of nearly an hour, including a nine minute track, it was immediately apparent that this was a band who might have moved on from simpler Rock fayre.

The album kicks off with a bit of huge riffage in the shape of 'Welcome To My World' which showcases James Hart's intense vocals nicely. It all sounds a bit epic, and whilst not the freest flowing track you'll hear, it really stirs the blood. The band revert to much more standard Rock tricks with 'Nothing To Me', a track that could have been bland in less experienced hands, with 'Illusion' completing a very satisfactory opening trilogy. Jupiter Falls once again show their new found depth with 'Call Me', an epic sounding, mostly acoustic track with a big sound that, whilst not immediately catchy, is solid enough to intrigue the listener.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

'This Sickened World' will remind many listeners of Metallica as Hart growls over big ass riffs and pounding drums, while 'Follow You' mixes big riffs and acoustic interludes very nicely indeed. The "big" offering is the title track which closes the album and lasts nearly ten minutes. It's a great song and, like the rest of the album, is unexpectedly deep and complex, showing a real maturity to the band.

A definite leap in experience from the last album, 'Faces In The Sand Part 1' is a seriously good piece of work. Taken as a whole, it contains a great variety of style, definitely showing that the band don't want to be just another Metal band. There are simple stomping tracks for those who want them, but also selections that take a few more listens to fully appreciate, along with a title track that will reward repeated listens. This may be a bit of a gamble for the group, but I'd rather have a band that draws faces in the sand than one who bury their heads in it.

Alan Holloway

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  November 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 1 day ago
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our Revíews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!
  • rocktopiarob : Hi in the Bad For Good review - please replace "Rundgren's absurdly genius guitar playing" with "Davey Johnstone's absurdly genius guitar playing"

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us