Erja Lyytinen - 'Stolen Hearts' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     August 10, 2017    
0.0 (0)
535   0   1   0   0   0






If you appreciate Blues-based music with Jazz overtones and some very intelligent guitar playing, then this is one to check out.

'Stolen Hearts' is the tenth studio album from Finnish singer/song-writer and guitarist Erja Lyytinen, following on from 2014's 'The Sky Is Crying'. The new album was recorded in Helsinki, with the vocals being laid down at State Of The Ark studios in London, and produced and mixed by Chris Kimsey (The Rolling Stones, Bad Company and INXS to name a few).

The album contains eleven finely crafted tracks that take influences stretching from Led Zeppelin to Pink Floyd and Jimi Hendrix, but ultimately the Bluesy nature of the songs comes through the strongest. There is a lot of finely detailed guitar work going on in the songs, and there are some great moments when the guitar playing takes centre stage and the listener is treated to some really strong soloing with feeling and emotion.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The album opener 'Stolen Hearts' sort of reminded me of Alannah Myles, with its slower verses relying mostly on voice with drum and minimal guitar, before building to the choruses, which are bridged by some fine guitar work. There is a professionally shot video for this song also available on YouTube which is well worth checking out. This is followed by 'Rocking Chair', which has more than a nod to LZ in the main riff and in its style. Each song has its own particular influences, yet also manages to add its own identity. My particular album highlights are the seven minute long 'Black Ocean', with its wonderfully simple and heavy riff, and the hauntingly beautiful 'City Of Angels'.

This is not an album that will necessarily appeal to out-and-out Rockers, but if you appreciate Blues-based music with Jazz overtones and some very intelligent guitar playing in the vein of Joanne Shaw Taylor, Orianthi or Bonnie Rait, then this is one to check out.

Chris Mee

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 0 minutes ago
  • Berny : Saxon, Gizmodrome, Skid Row, Night Ranger, Magnum, Joe Bonamassa & many more! Check out the latest LIVE reviews on Rocktopia! «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us