CD Reviews

WSTR - 'Red, Green Or Inbetween' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     August 25, 2017    
0.0 (0)
355   0   1   0   0   0




If you're a fan of the classic Punk Pop sound, there's no doubt in my mind you will appreciate this album and the first class songs on it.

It's always nice to get a debut album from a young UK band, even when it comes with absolutely zero information. It seems WSTR (no idea about the name) hail from Liverpool and are hoping to make a splash in the Punk Pop pool... and probably like 'Deadpool'. Okay, I'm guessing the last one but that's what happens when you don't include a press release.

Seriously, WSTR are a band who will certainly garner a lot of attention because they may just be the most derivative band I have ever reviewed. I have been listening to Punk Pop since the early days of Blink 182 and their ilk and I've never heard an album before that sounds so much like other bands. Green Day, Sum 41, Good Charlotte, All Time Low... WSTR steal from them all and don't give a fuck!

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The thing is, even though it's a weird experience listening to this, 'Red, Green or Inbetween' remains an album that is completely stuffed with catchy, aggressive, bouncy and well written songs. This, people, is Punk Rock 101 writ large. Vocalist Sammy Clifford sounds just like all the American vocalists, but at least this means he suits the songs down to the ground. I have to admit that listening to this album is a bit like listening to an old 'American Pie' soundtrack.

So what we have here is a band with zero identity. They have great songs for sure but absolutely nothing else. It's odd and remains so when listening to the album. If you're a fan of the classic Punk Pop sound, there's no doubt in my mind you will appreciate this album and the first class songs on it, but I just can't get away from the cut and paste feeling it gives me.

Alan Holloway

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 1 day ago
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us