CD Reviews

Foreigner - '40' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     August 28, 2017    
0.0 (0)
2681   0   1   0   0   0








There's been close to twenty Foreigner compilations, though this is probably the best (so far!).

With certain bands of similar legacies, you'll almost certainly have a greater affinity to one or the other in a "Manchester United or Manchester City" kind of way; whether it's British Metal institutions (Iron Maiden or Judas Priest?), LA Sleaze kings (Guns 'N' Roses or Mötley Crüe?) or AOR cornerstones (Journey or Foreigner?). Personally I'm for the latter of all the above (opening analogy included) and, in Foreigner's case, just one track – let alone their roll call of anthems – seals the deal; 'Urgent'. Every single instrument, from Mick Jones's clipped, sparse guitar intro to the sublime bass groove of Rick Wills and Dennis Elliott's metronome precise drum beat, conspires to create the most intoxicating of musical masterpieces. Add to this Thomas Dolby's slick synth programming, Mutt Lange at the production helm and a vocal performance by Lou Gramm that could turn stone to liquid gold... and we haven't yet come to the solo! Not, you'll be aware, a guitar solo, but a towering behemoth of a sax solo by Motown great Junior Walker that bristles with biblical soul and possesses, when listened to whilst at the wheel, an incredibly persuasive effect on your right foot.

All of the mega hits – 'Cold As Ice', 'Waiting For A Girl Like You', 'Juke Box Hero', 'I Want To Know What Love Is' and more – are naturally present on disc one (tracks one to twenty-one), as are brawnier staples such as 'Hot Blooded', 'Dirty White Boy' and 'Head Games'. The second disc (tracks twenty-two to forty) focuses on Foreigner's less-heralded latter years and contains a surprising wealth of treats, including a quartet of numbers lifted from 2009's 'Can't Slow Down', Foreigner's last album of original songs which boasts the addition of Dokken's Jeff Pilson on bass and backing vocals along with former Hurricane/Unruly Child singer Kelly Hansen.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

This pair are towering assets that shine especially brightly on the full-throttle driving title track and 'In Pieces', a searingly emotive powerhouse built on Pilson's pulsating four-string foundation. The breezy 'Save Me' was released as a new (electric) track on 2011's 'Acoustique' and features a decidedly Prince-sounding deviation before the outro, while 'Soul Doctor' is a surprisingly heavy number lifted from a 1992 compilation and featuring Gramm back in the fold (after the sole Johnny Edwards-fronted 'Unusual Heat' album, released in 1991 and represented here by the raunchy 'Lowdown And Dirty').

Gripes? Well the fact that there's been close to twenty Foreigner compilations – though this is probably the best (so far!) – is clearly overkill, and as fine as the recent line-up's sparkling acoustic rendition of 'Say You Will' is, it's no substitute for the thrillingly vital Gramm-fronted 1987 original which really warranted inclusion here too. The two most recent recordings, 'Give My Life For Love' and 'The Flame Still Burns' lack the snap and fizz of the '...Down' material, but that doesn't mean that this current Foreigner incarnation doesn't have it in them, it's just high time – and time isn't in the greatest abundance – for them to prove that they can indeed cut a brilliant follow-up eight years on. Oh, and make this the last compilation fellas, please!

Caesar Barton

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  May 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
      1  2  3
  4  5  6  7  8  910

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 day, 1 hour ago
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Defron : Ro
  • Defron : bought #90 couple of hours ago. Still no sign of it in my downloads
  • Defron : Hi Guys
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???
  • Berny : @tomandpam: Many thanks for your purchase. The download instructions were sent yesterday, please contact me at «email» should you haven't received the email.
  • tomandpam : I paid for a download on issue 89 and didn't receive the download. Please let me know when I can get it. Thanks

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site