CD Reviews

Pyramaze - 'Contingent' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     August 28, 2017    
0.0 (0)
398   0   1   0   0   0





Lovers of this wonderful genre could do worse than to get hold of a copy of this rather splendid album.

Pyramaze have been quietly putting out quality Melodic Power Metal albums for over thirteen years now, ever since their debut 'Melancholy Beast' hit the shelves back in May 2004. Since then, as with a lot of bands, a revolving line-up of singers has come and gone. Yet to their credit, Pyramaze haven't had faceless ones, far from it in fact. Lance King, Urban Breed and Matt Barlow have all been the vocal focus for the band at one time or another, that is until Terje Harøy took over in 2015.

Pyramaze now seem to be revelling in having a stable line-up with 'Contingent', for me personally, being their best album so far... and that's saying something. 'Contingent' has all the essentials you would expect to find on a Power Metal album, however, this time around these elements have now been enhanced by a more Progressive slant used by the band on its musical arrangements. When this new facet is joined with their intelligent use of hook-filled melodies to flesh out the albums songs, you know you're on to a winning album.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Opening with the Masterplan meets Pink Cream 69-like 'Land Of Information' is a genius decision and it sets the listener up nicely for the next fifty minutes or so. The keyboard heavy 'Kingdom Of Solace', the driven 'A World Divided', the angst-ridden 'Obsession', the Prog Metal-tastic 'Heir Apparent' and the dark closer 'Symphony Of Tears' are all songs deserving of your undivided attention. They all showcase a new mature and more focused song-writing style that really suits the music of Pyramaze.

As Progressively-edged Melodic/Power Metal albums go, 'Contingent' is up there with those from the best purveyors of this art form, and lovers of this wonderful genre could do worse than to get hold of a copy of this rather splendid album.

Ian Johnson

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 3 days, 4 hours ago
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us