Graham Bonnet Band - 'Live... Here Comes The Night' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     August 28, 2017    
0.0 (0)
479   0   1   0   0   0

The band and the live audience certainly had a good time.

The Graham Bonnet Band, following the success of 'The Book', has a live (CD and DVD/Blu-Ray) album out entitled 'Live... Here Comes The Night', released by Frontiers Music. The recording and filming took place at the Frontiers Rock Festival III in Trezzo, Milan on April 24, 2016.

Although the title harks back to a solo recording Bonnet did way back in 1990, this song is not included. The record is in fact homage to his time with Rainbow, Alcatrazz and Impellitteri. Although his recent live shows do include several new songs, they are absent from this album, which is a pity because their song structure and range suit him well live.

Anyway, assuming this was a business decision, the album works well and Bonnet's vocals sound good; never one to duck a song, Bonnet goes for it on every selection apart from 'Stand In Line', where he wisely sings around the frenetic second verse. His range is still there and although an expert would probably tell me some of the song's keys are lowered, Bonnet's voice belies the fact he has been in the business for nearly fifty years.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Regarding song choices, there are the inevitable Rainbow 'Down To Earth' songs, Michael Schenker Group's 'Dancer', 'Desert Song' and 'Assault Attack', plus a nice choice of both Steve Vai and Yngwie Malmsteen period Alcatrazz tracks. His solo hit 'Night Games', the hit that never was 'S.O.S' and the aforementioned '...Line' complete the package.

Remembering this is a band affair, an accomplished rhythm performance is given by Beth-Ami Heavenstone on bass and Mark Zonder (known for his work with Warlord and Fates Warning) on drums. A special mention must be given to Conrado Pesinato, who carries off all songs and emulates the sound of the maestros – Ritchie Blackmore, Schenker, Vai and Malmsteen – with aplomb; never taking over the show, his fat and crunchy guitar sound works well with Bonnet's voice.

The DVD and Blu-Ray versions of the package are well shot and clearly show a typically warm and passionate Graham Bonnet Band performance. Both the band and the live audience certainly had a good time!

Rob McKenzie

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  November 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 5 days, 22 hours ago
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our Revíews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!
  • rocktopiarob : Hi in the Bad For Good review - please replace "Rundgren's absurdly genius guitar playing" with "Davey Johnstone's absurdly genius guitar playing"

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us