DVD & Blu-ray Reviews

Deep Purple - 'Live At The NEC' http://www.rocktopia.co.uk/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x200s/7f/7b/6a/Deep-Purple-Live-At-The-NEC-56-1504014750.jpg Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     August 29, 2017    
0.0 (0)
332   0   1   0   0   0



A very worthy inclusion to the saturated market of Purple live documents.

As Deep Purple continue to fire out live recordings on what seems like a weekly basis, this DVD release is one of some historic merit. Recorded in 2002 at the NEC in Birmingham, this gig is notable not just for the fact that the band deliver an excellent concert, but because it was founding member Jon Lord's last performance with the group.

Kicking off with 'Fireball', the band are in superb form and vocalist Ian Gillan sings strongly throughout. 'Woman From Tokyo' is well received by the sell-out crowd and it's nice to hear the band delve into their back catalogue and produce an excellent rendition of 'Mary Long'. The Steve Morse era is represented by an energetic version of 'Ted The Mechanic' (which Gillan amusing explains was written about a bloke called Martin, who was a wine merchant, but that didn't work as well) and Morse shows his considerable chops on 'The Well Dressed Guitar'.

Don Airey performs the keyboards through the show, as Lord had announced his retirement earlier that year from touring, and he does a stellar job with tracks like 'Space Trucking' and 'When A Blind Man Cries' sounding particularly good. However, the magic really happens during the keyboard solo segment, where Airey performs his usual dexterous flurries, before the lights go down, there is a rumble of a Hammond Organ, and Lord appears in his place to lead the band through a thunderous 'Perfect Strangers'.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Lord shares the keyboards with Airey for the rest of the show and having two of the greatest keyboard players in Rock on stage at the same time gives the band another gear as they blast through 'Speed King', 'Hush', 'Black Night' and, of course, 'Smoke On The Water'. The show ends with Purple's usual opener, 'Highway Star'.

There's some emotional backstage footage after the gig of the band and Lord as they prepared to usher in a new era. The concert itself stands as one of the best Morse era shows I've seen. Avid fans will likely be aware this performance was already available as part of the 'Around The World' live box-set, but if you don't have that, having this available to buy as a standalone release is a very worthy inclusion to the saturated market of Purple live documents.

James Gaden

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 5 days ago
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us