Amy MacDonald http://www.rocktopia.co.uk/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x200s/79/bf/cc/Amy-MacDonald-Live-Thumb-1-1504792858.jpg Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 07, 2017    
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
792   0   1   0   0   0

Artist

Amy MacDonald - The Omeara, London (UK) - 28 August 2017

With over nine million record sales to date, a fleet of luxury sports cars in her garage and an Autumn tour of the UK just announced, Amy MacDonald played a stripped back acoustic set at The Omeara, London Bridge to celebrate the tenth anniversary of her debut album, 'This Is The Life'.

With a penchant for fast cars - and a growing collection of luxury sports cars to prove it - and over nine million album sales to back her up, Amy MacDonald doesn't play at life in the slow lane. This Celtic Rock songstress had pure adrenaline fuelling her as she played a foot to the floor performance of grace and danger at The Omeara. As this is one of two 'special shows' ̶ the other being Glasgow ̶ to celebrate the Tenth anniversary of her breakthrough debut album 'This Is The Life', this evening's show was tangible proof of her own personal journey from a wide-eyed, raw talent to a savvy and accomplished songstress.


Amy MacDonald - Live 2

The Omeara, an undecorated and stripped wall venue set up under railway arches by Mumford & Sons' Ben Lovett, appeared to be the perfect space for Amy to play an unplugged acoustic set of her own songs. Moreover, without the adornment of production and electric band fills, the nuances in her tunes shone brightly in this dark cellar of a venue.

The accessibility of her edgy stage persona is clearly endearing when she connects with her flock of fans, trading bonhomies from the stage in between her powerful, driven songs. Amy prefaced her songs with more chat than usual, revealing that she has the most pessimistic of mothers who always 'sees the downside of everything' and 'looks at things from rock bottom' so that when it happens 'you won't be disappointed'. This glass half empty point of view inspired her to write 'Prepare To Fall', her strongest song in tonight's set, and this evening's performance proved to be the Big-Mac moment of her stripped back and puckish set. Her powerful delivery of the song's sentiment bounced off the walls in this 350 capacity vaulted hall.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music


The loudest cheers, from her partisan audience, came when she played the songs from her debut album. The warmth from the accompaniment of her three man backing band ensured that these cherished songs retained a raw and ready feel. This gave full rein to Amy's powerful and rounded vocal; something which her loud, amplified electric sets in much larger sold-out venues doesn't often allow her to reveal.


Amy MacDonald - Live

Indeed, there was a slight Americana feel to some of the song arrangements. 'Mr. Rock and Roll' and 'The 4th of July' seemed to channel a Nashville via Glasgow vibe that worked surprisingly well. But it was the smooth rockers taken from her current album, title track 'Under The Stars' and the Celtic lilt of 'Down By The Water', that particularly shifted the through the gears with their pulsating beats.

With a nationwide acoustic tour of larger venues announced, this show proved to be a very successful prelude and finely tuned run out of songs and their new arrangements that puts the spotlight firmly on MacDonald's incredible voice and popular songwriting.

Words by Paul Davies.

Photos by Andy Rawll.


Amy MacDonald - Live 3

Tour dates:

Sunday 29 October 2017 Royal & Derngate Theatre, Northampton, UK
Monday 30 October 2017, G Live, Guildford, UK
Wednesday 01 November 2017, Theatre, Venue Cymru, Llandudno, UK
Thursday 02 November 2017, Parr Hall, Warrington, UK
Saturday 04 November 2017, The Hexagon, Reading, UK
Sunday 05 November 2017, Baths Hall, Scunthorpe, UK
Monday 06 November 2017, Cambridge Corn Exchange, Cambridge, UK
Wednesday 08 November 2017, St John at Hackney Church, London, UK
Saturday 09 December 2017 Deacon Blue, and 1 other Princes Street Gardens, Edinburgh, UK
Friday 15 December 2017, Barrowland Ballroom, Glasgow, UK
Saturday 16 December 2017, Barrowland Ballroom, Glasgow, UK

For more information, please visit:

http://www.amymacdonald.co.uk

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

 


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


busy

Member Login



Calendar

<<  November 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930   

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 5 days, 22 hours ago
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our Revíews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!
  • rocktopiarob : Hi in the Bad For Good review - please replace "Rundgren's absurdly genius guitar playing" with "Davey Johnstone's absurdly genius guitar playing"

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us

FacebookTwitterYoutubeGoogle