CD Reviews

Angelwings - 'The Edge Of Innocence' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 19, 2017    
0.0 (0)
332   0   1   0   0   0




If Prog and Symphonic Metal had a child, it would be Angelwings.

Gibraltar band Angelwings, earned their musical wings as a Nightwish covers band before starting to write their own material. The result of that transition and experience gained on the live circuit is found here in their debut release.

'Wonderland' pulls out all the stops and illustrates what Angelwings are all about. This is a heavily orchestrated opus, filled with wondrous synth parts, choral vocals, intense heavy guitar riffs, soaring fluid solos and the icing on the cake, Davinia Cano's pure but powerful voice. Lyrically equally brilliant, the song takes us to a land of escapism full of castles, foreign lands and fantasy. Next up, 'The Fallen' gets heavier still and sees Davinia Cano's voice oozing soul whilst digging in and adding a gritty edge before fliting back to her bell-like tone.

'Nile Goddess' starts with a haunting piano piece by Glenn Cano that is then built upon by Paul Cano's guitar soloing. The track has an altogether different, Proggy feel with a commercial edge to it, and really is stunning! 'Game Of Life' retains this edge whilst adding a darker overtone and some freight train drumming from Mark Brooks. Slowing the pace comes 'Memories', it's still full of impact but on a Symphonic level. Somewhat of a surprise is 'Forbidden Love' with its distinctly AOR vibe; it's definitely one of the many high points here.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Listening to the Angelwings soundscape, production quality and track balance is excellent, and although you can pick out elements of Prog, Rock and Symphonic Metal, they are way more than the sum of these parts. 'Embracing Fantasy' is a great title for this epic track, an AOR sound overlaid with violins, choral padding, synths galore and, of course, Cano's storming voice. 'Lilith' pulls a harmonic-laden menacing guitar part together with more of Glenn Cano's keyboard work. Davinia Cano's voice is Rockier here, with purity put on the back burner. The following title track has a massive sound which ebbs and flows as it tells the story. Flavours of Marillion, Genesis, Mike Oldfield and even Robert Miles (RIP) can be found here.

Is this the future of Prog we are hearing? If Prog and Symphonic Metal had a child, it would be Angelwings! The bar has been set high on this debut, so the next release is going to have to reach for the stars!

Paul Sabin

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 5 days ago
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us