CD Reviews

Lichtgestalt - 'Tempus Fugit'

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 20, 2017    
0.0 (0)
166   0   1   0   0   0




If you're a fan of Rammstein then this is certainly an album that could pique your interest.

Back in 2015, Lichtgestalt released their debut album 'Motorenherz' ('Engine Heart') to a degree of acclaim, now two years on, their follow-up 'Tempus Fugit' ('Time Flies') is armed and ready to hit the streets.

Of course, any band singing in their native German will draw comparisons to the mighty Rammstein and those are not totally without foundation. Sure, the hypnotic driving riffs are there, as is the occasional Industrial style synthesiser pattern, not to mention the fact that Thomas C Hertz's barking delivery does bear some resemblance to their compatriots. However, there is a lighter Gothic feel to Lichtgestalt with the band taking a more traditional Metal approach than Rammstein, particularly on the likes of 'Bis Mein Auge Bricht' ('Until My Eye Breaks') where Der Heizzer's sharp riffing have all the hallmarks of Scorpions in full flight.

Opener 'So Kalt Dein Lächeln' ('So Cold Your Smile') also highlights a power-driven riff and some bright synthesizer bubbling along in the background, and with the gonzoid chorus evoking the classic days of The Sparks, this is just a little odd but strangely addictive.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

'Der Letzte Boxer' ('The Last Boxer') provides brief respite from the bone-crunching riffs and metronomic drumming that characterises the majority of the album, but in all honesty, Lichtgestalt sound better when they keep things tougher.

If you're a fan of Rammstein then this is certainly an album that could pique your interest. It does lack the drama and creativity of their countrymen, but this is only their second album so there is plenty of time for Lichtgestalt to grow and develop over subsequent releases. For now, 'Tempus Fugit' shows promise as well as some good ideas which makes this a band worth keeping an eye on.

Mick Burgess

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  October 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  2  3  4  5  6  7  8

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 6 days, 8 hours ago
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our Revíews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!
  • rocktopiarob : Hi in the Bad For Good review - please replace "Rundgren's absurdly genius guitar playing" with "Davey Johnstone's absurdly genius guitar playing"
  • LeChef : Thumbs up!!!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us