CD Reviews

Pinnacle Point - 'Winds Of Change' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 20, 2017    
0.0 (0)
705   0   1   0   0   0





An album that everyone, and I do mean everyone, who reads Fireworks & Rocktopia should try to listen to at least once.

When I heard that guitarist, song-writer and producer Torben Enevoldsen (Section A, Acacia Avenue) had put a new act together, one with the intention of creating music with a classic seventies/eighties sound, I was more than a little fascinated. I therefore went and purchased a copy of 'Winds Of Change' and basically my jaw still hasn't returned to its rightful place since it hit the floor after playing the album for the first time.

The reason for such a reaction? Well, taking Streets, Kansas and especially Seventh Key as reference points, you soon discover that Enevoldsen and his partner Jerome Mazza (ex-Angelica), whose voice bears an uncanny resemblance to Billy Greer (Kansas, Streets, SK) at times, have between them recorded an album that readers of this magazine will absolutely rejoice in because it is a full-on classic sounding Hard Rock/AOR masterpiece.

I appreciate that masterpiece is a strong word to use, but just listen to the first three proper songs (there's an intro entitled 'Prelude') – 'Homeward Bound', the band's first single/video 'Damage Is Done' (which is just sublime) and 'All We Need To Know', where the use of a violin elicits fond memories of listening to those early Kansas albums – and tell me that this glorious music doesn't transport you back to a time when Rock was King and great songs and musicianship ruled the airwaves.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Enevoldsen and Mazza, alongside Cara C on violin, the keyboard legend Howard Helm, pianist Dan Orlando and Dennis Hansen, then continue this amazing musical blitz. The album includes the brooding Prog-edged 'Changes' and its odd time signature and arrangement, the superb title track, 'Part Of Me' (which could be a Kansas outtake from 'In The Spirit Of Things'), 'Never Let Go' with its intricate guitar work, the stunning 'What Will It Take' where Mazza really shows what a wonderfully emotional singer he is, the dramatic keyboard and harmony vocal led 'Sail Away' and the beautiful closer 'With You'.

Pinnacle Point have delivered ten songs (plus an intro) that are as good as anything I've heard in the AOR/Melodic Rock genre in many years. Without a doubt this is an album that everyone, and I do mean everyone, who reads Fireworks & Rocktopia should try to listen to at least once. Yes, I do think that it's that good.

Ian Johnson

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 days, 5 hours ago
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us