CD Reviews

Kepler Ten - 'Delta-V' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 20, 2017    
0.0 (0)
625   0   1   0   0   0






One of the best debut albums I've heard in a while.

This has to be one of the best debut albums I've heard in a while. Formed as a Rush tribute band (R2), they so enjoyed working together they decided to create their own music with this being the very tasty result. They fired off a demo to John Mitchell (Arena, IQ, Lonely Robot) when he announced his new label and not surprisingly he snapped them up; he also mixed the final product.

With the Rush connection one might imagine a rather too close similarity in sound, but with all credit to the band they've not fallen into that trap... too much. Sure there are the undeniable Rush tropes, but overall I get an amalgam of the likes of Enchant and Fates Warning alongside Scandi Melodic Rock providing a very nice crossover between Prog and AOR. It helps that James Durand sings in a lower register so the Rush comparisons are limited to the music.

The song-writing is incredibly strong, each of the seven tracks is terrific and their playing is top-notch. Steve Hales' (ex-Lionsheart and Steve Grimmett) drum sound is immense and Richie Cahill's guitar solos across the entire album are wonderful. Durand has a good, distinctive voice allied to both bass and keyboard skills.

The album's longest tracks bookend proceedings. 'Ultraviolet' opens with a Pink Floyd-ian soundscape before a delightful piano motif takes over which is gradually supplemented by synth, drums and then vocals. It then explodes into phase three with a huge riff and some fine guitar chops. The arrangement is terrific and whilst it's the heaviest track on offer, it lays down a marker for what is to come.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

'Time And Tide' has an eighties synth opening that moves into almost Muse-like territory on the verses before a chorus that reminded me of Harem Scarem. 'The Stone' is a more straightforward affair with a great vocal arrangement and harmonies.

'Swallowtail' sees the pace taken right down; it's an acoustic number until the end when the orchestrated keyboards are redolent of Within Temptation. 'The Shallows' is the most Rush-like thing here, musically it's "very" Rush, while 'In The Sere And Yellow' is a cross between Enchant and Scandi AOR.

'Red Skies Rise' is a Prog epic but with judicious editing would easily fit on any self-respecting Melodic Rock album. These guys should appeal to a wide range of our readers.

Gary Marshall

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  February 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 6 days ago
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us