CD Reviews

Ryan Hamilton & The Traitors - 'The Devil's In The Detail' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 20, 2017    
0.0 (0)
404   0   1   0   0   0

They might just have the album of the year on their hands.

You may have encountered Ryan Hamilton on the radio. You might even have seen him opening for Ginger Wildheart or on a triumphant UK headline tour. For the Texan who had mainstream success in the US with his first band Smile Smile, kept the wagon rolling with Jaret Reddick (Bowling For Soup) in People On Vacation, before hitting the highway under his own name with 'Hell Of A Day', is not only getting regular air time once more but also working his arse off on tour. This time around he's made his band official, the devastatingly good 'The Devil's In The Detail' arriving from not just Hamilton but also The Traitors, Rob Lane and Mickey Richards. It would be remiss of me not to mention in neon flashing, day-glow bashing lights that Wildheart also plays guitar on this album, and yet it would be a bigger dereliction of duty not to highlight that his inclusion gives little hint of the sound you can expect to find.

'Heavy Heart' is where you may have heard this band on the radio, the slow heartfelt number a hair-raiser for all the right reasons, as one of many lyrics that come right from Hamilton's soul hits home; the melody and harmony vocals located somewhere nearer heaven. However, don't think that this album is all serious introspection and no fun.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The Power Pop punch of 'Smarter' reminding us that every record should open with an upbeat smack of melody as Hamilton's vocals hit as though Kevin Cronin of REO Speedwagon swallowed Tom Petty and hollered out the results. 'We Never Should Have Moved To LA' then strides bold and rich on Wildheart's chord strikes as the sort of infectious beat that could get a whole town isolated for fear of a nationwide outbreak of ear to ear grin-itise carries it all along.

With 'Anywhere', 'Scottish Mud', 'Cheaters Never Change' and 'Strength In Numbers', Ryan and his Traitors play their trump card. Are they Rock, are they Pop, or are they Country? The correct answer being, who cares? What matters is that they're mighty fine at whatever they turn their hand to. If they aren't careful, they might just have the album of the year on their hands.

Steven Reid

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  December 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
      1  2  3
  4  5  6  7  8  910

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 10 hours, 42 minutes ago
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our RevĂ­ews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us