CD Reviews

Hawkwind - 'Into The Woods' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 20, 2017    
0.0 (0)
620   0   1   0   0   0







Hawkwind are really getting back on form and the future for them looks very rosy indeed.

Following the success of last year's 'The Machine Stops', Space Rock exponents Hawkwind return with a seemingly Mother Earth friendly 'Into The Woods' release. According to band stalwart Dave Brock, part of this album is a continuation of the story started on '...Stops' and explores living above ground and into the woods.

The trip starts with the title track, morphing quickly from Classical piano into the more familiar Hawkwind sound of driving rhythms and wah-induced distorted guitar – atmospheric sounds of the woods are also to be found. The lyrical content is menacing, plotting the movement into the woods where such "joys" as eating your bones and tearing your flesh with nowhere else for you to go awaits. The theatrical drama of this song really works well. 'Cottage In The Woods' takes a slower, more synth-based direction, and the use of spoken passages has tinges of early Mike Oldfield in its feel. 'Have You Seen Them' is possibly how The Beatles would sound today, if they were all still on this mortal coil; a simple track, but expertly executed.

Far be it for Hawkwind to ever be normal, but 'Space Ship Blues' comes as close as we'll ever get to it musically, as bad-boy-Boogie meets Space Rock, complete with steel slide guitars! 'Magic Scenes' is an epic track that sees the band raising the bar; reduced dependence on space synth pays dividends here and it's certainly a case of less is more. 'Wood Nymph' and album closer 'Magic Mushroom' revert to classic Hawkwind in sound, the latter working its way into a crescendo of musical cacophony which only Hawkwind can pull off.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Hawkwind, despite being anti-establishment, have actually become a fixture of the musical establishment due to their unique sound, longevity and input into music history. Brock has ridden many a storm with ever changing line-ups and internal feuds, but emerging triumphant he's now releasing material that is going to warm the hearts of diehard fans and newcomers alike.

The album is well assembled, and breaking the tracks up with narratives and sound effect-based links helps relay the story well. In some cases, however, there is so much going on it can dilute the song somewhat and lead to the track losing its way. That being said, Hawkwind are really getting back on form and the future for them looks very rosy indeed.

Paul Sabin

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 day, 13 hours ago
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us